A Long Overdue Update – Status Update – 11/19/15

Status Update Banner

Greeting to any followers I may still have and to all the bloggers in general who come across this.  It has been more than a month since my last post and I have some pretty cool things to share with you on the work front, school front, personal front, and bookish front – so let’s get started!

Work

Things are finally starting to slow down at work again, i.e. everyone is back in the office.  I am back to focusing solely on transcription and other minor office tasks.  I have missed just being able to focus on my own job.  While I was able to handle acting as the office manager/receptionist while ours was on medical leave, I am not sure it is something I would want to do on an everyday basis.  There are just so many nuances involved in that job which I don’t possess because I don’t have the experience of having worked the job everyday.  It is possible that were I to act in that capacity on an everyday basis for a while I would pick it up and do fine, but right now I am still not entirely confident in my capacity to do the job.  Thankfully, I don’t think I need to worry about that.  Upon her return, our everyday office manager/receptionist said that while I made a couple of small mistakes, the majority of the work I did was fine and that she appreciated me covering her desk for her.

We have also hired another employee who is going to be working as a psychological assistant to the boss.  She is going to be handling some of the patient medical record review and some of the patient testing as well as training me in those tasks which I am pretty excited about.  Originally, I was going to be taking over as the psychological assistant and we were going to find a new transcriptionist, but she took a shot applying to us (though we weren’t advertising) and the boss hired her on the spot.  Honestly, this will probably be better in the long run for all of us because she will be able to train me in the position properly and our boss will be able to continue focusing on patients.  It is funny, for an office that only sees one patient per day normally, we are incredibly busy.  Right now, we are scheduling patients into late February or early March of next year.  Honestly, I really like my job.  Transcription may not seem like a desirable job, but I enjoy the work.  I like my co-workers.  I like the office environment.  I really feel like this is a place where I can grow professionally.  Like I said, transcription isn’t exactly elaborate but it is a position I can grow from and work to develop desirable professional skills which I will retain over the course of my professional lifetime.  I am honestly pretty happy with everything going on in my professional/work life right now.

School

I can’t really talk about my work and professional life without talking about school and education.  As many of you already know, I have an AA in Business Administration and am close to completing a BS in Business Administration with a concentration in Accounting, but due to issues with financial aid I had to stop attending school with a couple of classes to complete before graduating.  I took a year off from anything in order to deal with this disappointment, eventually I started to apply for jobs again and I wound up in my current job due to lucky circumstances.  Since I started working here, I decided that I would go back to school and work on a psychology degree of some sort since I am now working in the field and want to have some practical knowledge of the subject.  I only need five classes total to attain an AAT (Associate of Arts Transferable) in Psychology and I will be starting my first two classes on January 11th.  I will be taking my classes online through the local junior college, this is how I completed the majority of my general education requirements for my AA in Business Administration originally.  My first two classes are going to be Introduction to Psychology and Human Sexualities, intro is a prerequisite to all the other psych classes and Human Sexualities meets an elective requirement (I think?).   Honestly, the semester doesn’t sound like it will be too difficult which is always preferable for a first semester back to school.  There are a couple of classes that I will possibly have to travel to campus for, but I will deal with that when the time comes.  I really don’t want to have to take off time from work for classes and honestly I don’t think I will be able to afford to do so either.  I have about half a year between now and then to figure it out, need to focus on completing the first semester back before I start worrying about future classes!

Personal

On the personal side of life, things are going pretty well overall.  The boyfriend and I went on a week long vacation at the beginning of November for Blizzcon in Anaheim.  It was a great trip as we spent the majority of it with another couple we met through World of Warcraft, specifically they joined the guild we were in during the Cataclysm expansion while we were raiding Firelands.  While we haven’t raided together since towards the end of the Mists of Pandaria expansion, we have always remained friends and in contact with each other, so it was great to get to hangout again.  We also hung out with our off-tank during Mists of Pandaria and his brother.

We spent a good amount of our time at Blizzcon looking into the upcoming expansion for World of Warcraft.  The story for Legion is going to be incredibly interesting, in my opinion, because it is bringing back a lot of the themes and stories from The Burning Crusade (the expansion when I started playing).  There is a new hero class for the expansion being released called Demon Hunters.  If you are at all familiar with World of Warcraft, you will basically now be able to play a character modeled after Illidan Stormrage.  I had the opportunity to demo the intro quest line and zone for the Demon Hunter, my thoughts on it were sort of mixed.  I really liked the introductory quest line and zone, really liked some of the changes they are making to the questing system (which now includes more dialogue and immersion that doesn’t impede your questing), and found the Demon Hunters to be aesthetically pleasing due to the seeming amount of choices you can make regarding your character’s look.  All in all, I am going to be interested in seeing just how the Demon Hunter fits into not just the lore and storyline of the expansion, but how it will fair in high end raiding progression.  Honestly, I am interested to see how a lot of the announced changes will impact the classes and what Blizzard defines as “balance” in general.  They are further separating Holy and Disc priests (priest being my main/preferred class since Firelands/MoP) which is a good thing and much needed.  Holy isn’t going to be all that different overall, rather it is getting access to three new spells which had originally been restricted by the Chakra system.  Now, rather than having to utilize a Chakra and be locked into it Holy priests will be instead able to utilize a specific Chakra spell as necessary, though it has a one minute cooldown that is reduced by a certain amount every time a specific spell is utilized by the priest.  It will be an interesting system in healing and is largely being pulled over from Diablo 3.  Honestly, that was the theme for a lot of the World of Warcraft changes, let’s take some well liked features from our other games (such as Diablo 3) and implement them into WoW.  GENIUS!  I mean, it is going to potentially solve a lot of the problems/issues people have had with WoW, but I don’t think it is a perfect solution.  We will have to see how things play out when the game is released.

Other Blizzcon adventures included Hearthstone announcements and watching professional matches as well as Overwatch announcements and details.  I am working on getting back into Hearthstone, but am finding that it is somewhat difficult given how behind I am in collecting cards to build my deck with.  I have a basic Mage deck I have been working with and it has had some decent results, but in “Play” mode against other players with a lot more time devoted to the game and more cards, it is easily destroyed.  I may spend a little bit of money to purchase some of the previous solo adventures so I can get caught up, but we will see.  I haven’t been playing Diablo 3 or Heroes of the Storm as much as I was previously, and my WoW subscription is currently inactive since I haven’t been raiding or anything.  Diablo 3 has a new season starting which should be fun and I may look into playing it.  I played a Witch Doctor for season 4 and created a seasonal Demon Hunter as well.  My non-seasonal Demon Hunter is in need of some play time (she is also much better geared than my seasonal one as I have put the majority of my hours into her).  Overwatch stress test this week, we will see who gets invited to participate and whether or not we will actually get to play!  My issue with Overwatch though is that it is a first person shooter, typically not my type of game, but I will try it out before I completely write it off.

After the couple of days of Blizzcon we chilled out.  The boyfriend and I visited my sister and her boyfriend having dinner at a nice Vietnamese restaurant.  By the way, Vietnamese coffee is probably one of the most delicious coffees I have ever had in my life, it was just so good.  Then we did a day at Disneyland.  The whole park was done up for Christmas!  I mean, Disneyland is Disneyland and the crowds and misbehaving children can rub a person’s nerves raw, but overall it was a good time.  Vacation was a serious success.

In addition, the boyfriend and I have been looking into our options regarding moving back out on our own.  We are currently living with his family and while I appreciate them having us, I just miss having my own place.  I can’t really go into the details of the entire situation, but living there has me seriously frustrated and stressed out the majority of the time which just isn’t any way to live.  It is incredibly unhealthy on a emotional, mental, and even physical level.  We have found an apartment complex we are interested in.  It is located in the same city as my office and is closer to my daughter’s school.  Overall, I think it will be a good move for us but I just am not 100% confident in our ability to do it right now.  I’ve been researching, budgeting, and planning it out.  It is all I can do right now and that is the most frustrating part.  I want to be able to move by March, but I don’t know if we will be able to do so.  Hopefully we will, we will just have to see.

Books

On the bookish front, I left off talking about how I had finally finished Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson’s epic fantasy saga, Wheel of Time.  I still need to write up a review for both Towers of Midnight and A Memory of Light as well as an overall review of the series as a whole.  The reviews are the somewhat easy part, but the overall series review will be a project that I likely won’t get around to until after Thanksgiving.  I am not going to give myself a deadline or anything, but I hope to have it out before the end of this year since 2015 was the year of my read through for this series and that just makes the most logical sense to me.

I made the decision that October was going to be my month for reading a few books by Stephen King, specifically ‘Salem’s Lot, The Shining, and Doctor Sleep.  As I keep mentioning, the increase in work related responsibilities had a huge impact on my reading but I was able to read and finish ‘Salem’s Lot.  I am still reading The Shining and still plan to read Doctor Sleep afterwards, it has just been going a lot slower than I originally had planned.  I wanted to read all three of them in October, but here we are more than halfway through November and I am still reading them, oops.  I just need to actually take the time to read when I am home after work, especially now that I am not taking work home with me.  I think part of my problem is that my reading nook has stuff piled up on it and reading on the bed just isn’t all that comfortable for me and I don’t really have anywhere else to sit and read.  Maybe I will work on cleaning off my reading nook so I can get back in the habit of using it after work for my reading pleasures.

I also finished reading Wonderland by Robert McKay, a space themed fairy tale retelling of Alice in Wonderland which I found myself enjoying.  I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review and promise that I will be working on and publishing my review as soon as possible.  Honestly, if you are interested in fairy tale retellings this book is a good pick up.  The story remains true to the themes and story of Alice in Wonderland while also bringing attention to some interesting issues of ethics, morals, and philosophy without shoving them down your throat as lessons.  They are brought up in such a way that the reader is left to think about them and form their own opinion, a quality which I greatly appreciated.  Anyways, look forward to my upcoming review!

I still have many other books listed on my Fall TBR List, but I don’t know how many I will actually get through before the first day of Winter on December 22nd.  I doubt I will finish and review all of them, but I am sure I can at least make a dent in that list!

As always, I hope that this post finds everyone well.  To all of you who are still sticking by and checking out my content, thank you.  I really appreciate your support and hope to be found deserving of it.  I promise that I will try to blog more often now that things are returning to normal at work.

New Book Blog Sig

4 Comments

  1. I’m glad things are finally slowing down at work for you. Congrats on almost finishing your psychology degree!

    That’s cool that you got to meet some of your Warcraft Friends! (I haven’t played that game in years!)

    Good luck finding your own place!

    My sister was just bugging me again yesterday to start Wheel of Time. I’m tempted but I think if I decide to read another thick book I’d go with Way of Kings instead.

    Welcome back!

    • The slow down is nice, it is doing so much for my stress levels, lol. Covering multiple jobs was just driving me bonkers, so I am glad to be able to just focus on my own work again.

      Thank you for the congratulations. It is more of a “I’m just starting it and am lucky I am already so close to finishing it” type of deal, but 5 classes over two or three semesters to get a two year degree isn’t bad all that bad.

      This is the second time we have attended Blizzcon as a group, the first was in 2013 (the odd year Blizzcon trip is becoming a tradition, lol). I haven’t played in probably six months now, there are some aspects I miss like raiding with friends, but at the same time just being able to raid takes up so much time. I keep consider going back and playing casually, but I just don’t think I will enjoy it as much. Raiding was just my niche in that game, specifically healing.

      Thanks, hopefully it will go well!

      Wheel of Time is a huge commitment, so definitely make sure you are mentally prepared if/when you decide to read it. It really is a good read in the end.

      Thanks for the welcome back, hopefully I will be able to be around more than before!

Leave a Reply

