Top Ten Tuesday | Ten Finished Series I Have YET to Finish

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where bloggers are encouraged to post their own top ten list responses to the topic of the week.  This week’s topic is: Ten Finished Series I Have YET to Finish.   Let’s face it, we’ve all been there…we start reading a series, but then a newer series is released and it sweeps us off our feet and we completely forget about what we were reading before.   In other cases, interests change and we let it slip down the TBR pile.  There’s nothing wrong with it either way, so long as we eventually make our way back to it.  Here are my Top Ten Finished Series I Have YET to Finish!

1.)  Wheel of Time Series by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson – Only one and a half books to go though!  Work has definitely reduced the amount of time I have to spend reading, but I hope that I can complete my read through of the series before the end of September.

2.)  Matched Trilogy by Ally Condie – I have had this trilogy on my TBR for a long time, but have never gotten around to reading it.  The concept is also somewhat close to my own novel, though my novel deals more with soulmates discovered via a biologic means rather than technology based.

3.)  Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy by Laini Taylor – This trilogy always makes these sorts of lists because it is one that has come so highly recommended by many people, but yet I have just not fit it into my reading schedule.  Hopefully I can remedy this before the end of the year!

4.)  The Heroes of Olympus Series by Rick Riordan – I really enjoyed PJO and was really looking forward to HoO, but for some reason I just didn’t click with it on the same level.  Granted, I have only read the first two books in the series and then started reading other things.  I plan to finish out the series at some point, just not sure when.

5.)  Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead – I can’t remember how this series first came to my attention other than the fact that it has vampires which tend to be one of my literary weaknesses.  Definitely willing to give it a chance in the future.

6.)  House of Night Series by P.C. and Kristin Cast – I found this series after I read Cast’s Divine Trilogy (Divine Beginnings (Prequel), Divine by Mistake, Divine by Choice, Divine by Blood) and fell in love with it.  Sadly, I still haven’t taken the time to read it but I have the books and plan to read them at some point.

7.) A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket – Somehow these books just passed me by as I was growing up and I never caught on to them.  Perhaps when my daughter decides to read them, I will read them with her for fun.

8.)  Earth’s Children Series by Jean M. Auel – I think it was in 2008, maybe 2009, I was given a copy of Auel’s The Clan of the Cave Bear to read and I really liked the story and I really enjoyed the story.  At the time, I didn’t realize it was part of a series and was excited when I found out it was.  I plan to go back and read it from beginning to end at some point.

9.)  The Wicked Years by Gregory Maguire – I seriously just need to actually sit down and read Out of Oz.  I have been putting it off for so long for no reason especially considering how much I thoroughly enjoyed Wicked!

10.)  The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare – I can’t even remember how far I have actually read through these books, but I believe I read up to City of Fallen Angels in TMI, which is may be around the time she started releasing TID?  Regardless, I stopped reading them and haven’t gone back and I am unsure whether or not I actually will.  I am curious enough to want to read them and see how they end, but I wasn’t a very big fan of Clare’s writing style and I doubt that opinion has changed very much, if at all.  We will see…

 What are your Top Ten Finished Series You Have YET to Finish?  Leave me a link to your Top Ten Tuesday post in the comments below!  Don’t have a blog, but want to share your Top Ten with me all the same?  Then feel free to list them in a comment below!  Until next time<3

New Book Blog Sig

9 Comments

  1. Great list. I think you should hold off and not read Matched lol okay, that’s terrible but it’s gotten a lot of bad reviews and I myself didn’t enjoy it. It had a lot to do with the main character, the writing, and the story. It’s hard to relate to the characters, they’re very bland and one dimensional. Along with that, the world building needed more work and detail. I didn’t click with Heroes of Olympus when I read it either. The last book really frustrated and irritated me, I had the urge to throw the book lol. I really enjoyed The Vampire Academy series. The main character can be impulsive and immature but she goes through some great character development. As for TMI and TID, I really loved the first 3 books of TMI. The third was the best and it should’ve just ended there. The other books were pretty useless for me. TID however, I am in love with it haha. It’s one of my favorites!

  2. The Wheel of Time was definitely on my list, too – there’s just so many giant books in the series, and it’s been so long since I stopped reading that I think I’ve forgotten everything I read 😥 I actually really like Brandon Sanderson, so I should probably think about picking them up again!

    • I started reading Wheel of Time because of a really good friend of mine who had read it and recommended it to me. I put it off for so long, but since the series ended I finally picked it up and it has been a really good epic saga. Definitely think about picking it up again when you are looking for a longer fantasy series!

  3. I have yet to start Matched, I was never intending on reading it as it’s not really my thing, but I got it for free in a blind book swap so I figured I may as well now. We’ll see how it goes, but I don’t have high hopes. Heroes of Olympus is worth finishing although I agree, I didn’t click with it as much as I did with the original Percy series either. A Series of Unfortunate Events is okay, some books are better than others.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/09/08/top-ten-tuesday-21/

Leave a Reply

