Top Ten Tuesday | Top Ten Books That Would Be On My Syllabus If I Taught World Building 101

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where bloggers are encouraged to post their own top ten list responses to the topic of the week.  This week’s topic is: Top Ten Books That Would Be On Your Syllabus If You Taught X 101!  My choice was to focus on the world building aspect (i.e. World Building 101), so here is a list of 10 of my favorite book worlds/settings!

1.)  Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson

2.)  The Dark Tower by Stephen King

3.)  The Legend of Drizzt by R.A. Salvatore (not all books are pictured here)

4.)  His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

5.)  The Giver Quartet by Lois Lowry

6.)  The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

7.)  The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

8.)  The Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson

9.)  Abarat Series by Clive Barker

10.)  A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin

 What are your Top Ten Picks for Lectures?  Leave me a link to your Top Ten Tuesday post in the comments below!  Don’t have a blog, but want to share your Top Ten with me all the same?  Then feel free to list them in a comment below!  Until next time<3

New Book Blog Sig

2 Comments

    • There are a lot of good books/series on this list you may want to look into the next time you are in search of a good read with a world that feels like it could be a real place. Clive Barker’s Abarat series is definitely one of the most in depth, yet whimsical worlds that I have EVER experienced. It is just so vibrant and alive, you can’t help but lose yourself in it. I admit, I sort of cheated by adding Martin’s Westeros. I have yet to read A Song of Ice and Fire, but have watched the television show religiously and plan on reading the books when I get a break in my planned reading schedule. Thanks for the comment and I will definitely check out your post!

Leave a Reply

