Status Update – 7/9/2015

Hello there my lovely followers, this post is to let all of you know what has been happening in my life recently and what some of my upcoming plans are going to be for the next couple of weeks.  It has been a while since I did a status update, but I honestly haven’t really had much of interest to share with all of you – life has been thankfully uneventful as of late.  Without further ado, let me get you guys up to date!

The Continuing and Ever Allusive Job Search

I still have yet to find permanent employment and it quite frankly, has been very depressing to deal with.  I have been putting in applications on a relatively consistent basis for various jobs that I am able to do, basically jobs that are office clerk or secretarial in nature, but because I don’t have some magical number of years of experience I tend to find myself looked over – rarely advancing towards the interview portion.  I feel like, if I could just make it to the interview portion then I could show just how capable I am of fulfilling the needs of an employer.  The job market is just not in favor of the applicant in this area, but I don’t really have the option of looking further out because of expenses to commute and were I to need to move for a job the possible custody issues that could arise would be frustrating to say the least.  Anyways, I put in an application for an accounting clerk position in one of the school districts and I am hoping that because of my education in accounting in addition to my general office experience that I can get the job.  Please please please send me as many good vibes as you can, I really really want this job.

Health Stuffs

I have some really awesome health related news, I have lost a total of 17 pounds since April!  The majority of it has been through watching calories and walking, sadly I had to stop my regular exercise routine after my mom’s Irish Setter helped me to hurt my ankle.  It means I have had to take it really easy because my ankle is still incredibly weak compared to how it was before which is so frustrating.  I want to get a membership at a gym because my walking has been incredibly sporadic due to the summer heat, seriously, I have experienced days where the temperature has been about 108 degrees Fahrenheit by noon.  The ability to exercise inside would be really nice.  Other than that, I have tried to spend a good amount of time in the pool and just swim laps but our pool is above ground and not really big enough to do meaningful laps.  The good news is that my Misfit Flash does work in the pool and I can track my swimming activity, so at least it is being tracked and applied towards my fitness goals.  I sadly don’t notice or see the results of the weight loss other than the fact that I have had to tighten my belt a notch in order for it to properly hold up my jeans.  Hopefully I can continue on this course and reach my goals for a healthier me.

Bookish Things

I have finally broken down and started to read The Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas, taking part in the #ReadThroneofGlass event on Twitter – which I talked about in my post on Monday.  In addition, I am looking to finish listening to Ernest Cline’s Ready Player One as narrated by Wil Wheaton this week and have the review written up for Thursday the 16th of July.  I will also likely finish up Knife of Dreams this week, but I am going to take a contemporary reading break between it and The Gathering Storm to read P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han.  My reason for this is that The Gathering Storm is the first book which has contribution from Brandon Sanderson following the death of Robert Jordan, so it makes for a logical break point in the series to read something a little different.  We will see just how much reading I actually get done this week/weekend because of the next thing I am going to tell you…

My Sister is Coming to Visit!

Yep yep yep, I am super excited because my younger sister is going to be visiting and staying with our mom and grandmother in Sac from the 9th to the 22nd of this month!  This means I am not going to necessarily be checking into my blog as often since we are going to attempt to spend family time together while she is here.  Me, my daughter, and my boyfriend are going to be up there this weekend for sure and will return home on Sunday night/Monday afternoon.  I am not yet sure of any additional visits we will make, but we at least have this one figured out.  The other exciting part of this visit to my mom and grandmother’s house is that my mom got a new Irish Setter puppy named Bobby(ie?) and this is going to be our first time meeting him and getting to play with him!  I am so excited!  I absolutely love puppies, they are always so cute and adorable and just so much fun!!!  I mean, I was lucky that I grew up with dogs and I always had a pet dog that I could call my own up until a few days before my 24th birthday when we had to put down my dog Angel after she broke a leg and we discovered that she had developed bone cancer.  It was one of the most heart wrenching decisions I ever had to make, but it was for the best in the end because it wouldn’t have been fair to let her suffer through the disease – she also had a good long life of 14 years, a strong life span of an English Setter and she was the longest living member of her litter.  Still makes me sad and wish I had a dog of my own again but it just isn’t in the cards right now sadly.

Anyways, please feel free to still send me comments or messages or whatever, but just please be patient with me if I am a little slow to return them between now and the 22nd – I will have both my phone and tablet with the WordPress app and will continue to check in, but it just might take me a little more time than usual!  If you want to follow my adventures, links to my Twitter and Instagram can be found in the side bar and are likely to be updated as I go!

That concludes my status update for now, I wish all of you well and hope all of you have a marvelous weekend!

Book Blog Sig

 

3 Comments

  1. Ugh I’m sorry to hear about your job search. I’m in the same spot. I’m not even getting an interview or a call back. I don’t even get an email saying we’ve reviewed your application but decided to go elsewhere. At least tell me if I didn’t get it geez. I do hope that you get this job!

    Amazing weight loss!! That’s so great that you’re staying in track! You’re doing so much better than me haha I think I’ve gained like 10 pounds since my family visited haha. Can’t wait to read your reviews on the books!!

    • I have only had the complete lack of contact occur on one job application thankfully. Hopefully both of us will have better luck! Hahaha, visits with family and holidays always seem to destroy any weight loss progress. At least I am no longer dreading time spent exercising, that has greatly helped me keep on track. I am sure you still look great and that 10 imaginary 10 pounds will disappear in no time once you get back into your established routine. Yes, books books books – so much reading even though I am going so slow cause of visiting with my sister and playing with my mom’s new puppy lol! Still, the mini weekend hiatus is worth it and we will likely do it again next weekend before my sister returns to San Diego.

Leave a Reply

