Top Ten Tuesday | Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where bloggers are encouraged to post their own top ten list responses to the topic of the week.  This week’s topic is:  Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read.  So, I have talked about it before that I tend to be really behind on book hype only because I have been an individual who focuses a lot of my reading into book series which are complete rather than those in progress.  Because of this, I tend to miss out on reading a lot of hyped books because I wait to read them.  This is a serious fault of mine and something I think I need to remedy, especially if I want to improve as a book blogger.  So without further ado, here is my list of Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read!

1.  Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass Series and A Court of Thorns and Roses – These books are seriously right up my alley as far as plot lines that I would like, but I just haven’t read them yet.  Granted, if you saw my post yesterday you will know that I am participating in the #ReadThroneofGlass event on Twitter and am finally remedying this clear lapse in judgment.  I will likely be looking towards A Court of Thorns and Roses later in the year.

2.  Neil Gaiman’s Books – One of my close friends is a huge fan of his and has told me a lot of positives about his books, but I have never gotten around to reading any of his novels though I have a couple of them on my tablet.  The closest I have come is watching the movie Coraline with my daughter, which is honestly not even close to the same thing as reading one of his novels.  Depending on how I continue to progress with my TBR pile, perhaps I will get around to reading some of his novels.

3.  The Reckoners Series by Brandon Sanderson – I have heard so much praise for these novels and yet I haven’t read them!  I already know I am going to love them because I absolutely love the writing of Brandon Sanderson but just haven’t read them yet!

4.  Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy – The covers are stunning and from what I have heard the writing is lyrical, but I just haven’t gotten to reading them yet though I have had them for going on almost a year now.

5.  The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – I don’t really have much to say, I have this book and it is easily one I could have chosen to read since it is a standalone novel – I just haven’t read it and I can keep saying I am going to but I don’t know if I ever will.  It is such a sad story and I just don’t know if I can handle all that sadness with any sort of grace.  Maybe when I am in need of a good cry someone can remind me to pull this book out so I can get it all out of my system at once, deal?

6.  The Infernal Devices Trilogy by Cassandra Clare – I know Anjie, please don’t hate me!  So, I read Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments Series (specifically, I read through City of Fallen Angels) and at this point I just became frustrated and haven’t read any further.  Since then, The Infernal Devices Trilogy has also been released and while I have seen reviews which were much more positive of these books, I still haven’t read them because I am seriously scared of Cassandra Clare disappointing me again.  I don’t know, maybe I will be able to finish it eventually and read these, but I am not in any hurry.

7.  Anna and the French Kiss Trilogy by Stephanie Perkins – This is more of a “I don’t read much contemporary, therefore I haven’t read these” type of confession.  I know that a lot of people have really enjoyed these three novels, but I don’t know how likely it is I will actually ever read them.

8.  The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky – I know, I know I picked a movie poster but I just can’t help but love the ever gorgeous Emma Watson.  There is a serious following for this book and has been a great deal of hype, but again it is one of those ones that I just haven’t read.  I didn’t have all that great of a high school experience, so the appeal of reading a contemporary novel set during high school is always rough for me.  I do want to read the book, I just have to be in the right frame of mind to do it.

9.  The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Series by Douglas Adams – I am always given such a hard time by my friends when I admit that I haven’t read this one because it is such an epitome of nerd culture that it is almost considered a sin to have not read it.  I seriously need to up my game and get it read, I need to know why 42 is the answer to everything!

10.  Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – This book has the perfect blend of creepy and mystical, yet I haven’t read it.  Again, hopefully I will have the time to read it as well as its sequel Hollow City.

What are your Top Ten Hyped Books You’ve Never Read?  Leave me a link to your Top Ten Tuesday post in the comments below!  Don’t have a blog, but want to share your Top Ten with me all the same?  Then feel free to list them in a comment below!  Until next time<3

Book Blog Sig

2 Comments

    • I am definitely enjoying Throne of Glass, I absolutely love Celaena – she has some serious sass and the makings of an exciting protagonist. ACOTAR is so up my alley because I love stories featuring faeries/fairies/fae, just need to make time for it. I have seen such polarized reviews of TFIOS, people either love it or hate it. Very cool that we have some of the same books listed!

Leave a Reply

