Top Ten Tuesday – My Favorite Top Ten Tuesday Topics

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where bloggers are encouraged to post their own top ten list responses to the topic of the week.  This week’s topic is: My Favorite Top Ten Tuesday Topics!  This post is going to be a bit underwhelming for myself because I didn’t start participating in Top Ten Tuesday until the beginning of this year, and even then I have only completed ten topics other than today’s because I spent so much time away from blogging between March and April.  Irregardless of this, I would love to share with you my past Top Ten Tuesday posts!

1.  My Top Ten Childhood Favorites – A Freebie from January 20th, 2015

I have been a huge reader from the time I was a little kid.  Hell, I learned how to read sitting on my great grandfather’s lap sharing coffee and reading the newspaper with him starting from the time I was 3 years old!  I really enjoyed taking the time to go back and look at what some of my favorite books were as a kid and it gave me ideas for books I could suggest to my 8 year old daughter and future bibliophile in training, definitely a win-win situation!

2.  Ten Books I’d Read With my Book Club – If I Had a Book Club… – January 27th, 2015

I have always wanted to be part of a book club and if it were a book club which read the books I listed then I would definitely be in heaven!  I am still not part of a book club, but I am lucky to have a few good friends who are readers.  At least I am able to gush about books with them and they don’t look at me like I am too crazy, hopefully they consider me to be just the right amount of crazy over books!  Following along with this subject, I am excited because once I have completed my read through of The Wheel of Time Series I am going to look towards eventually reading A Song of Ice and Fire and my friend Jess said she would read them with me even though she has already read the books, so yay!

3.  Ten Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read, and Want to Read, from the Fantasy Genre – February 3rd, 2015

Looking at this entry again I am somewhat disappointed in myself because I still haven’t knocked any of the books off of this list, but that is mostly due to the fact that I have been reading The Wheel of Time Series and took all that time away from reading/blogging in March and April.  I am most definitely still looking at reading these 10 books/series in the future!

4.  Ten Things I Like/Dislike When it Comes to Romance in Books – February 10th, 2015

It is kind of funny, but this entry became one of my most popular overnight because a friend of mine who runs a writing advice blog on Tumblr, Slithering Ink, posted a link to my post.  I really enjoyed writing this entry because it lent to a bit of introspection and to be critical of what we are reading in a constructive manner.  Romance is a common theme in books, even when it isn’t the main story line there are elements of love and relationships present, so being able to constructively discuss the elements you like or dislike made for an excellent topic.

5.  Ten Book Related Problems I Have – February 17th, 2015

I follow a couple of my fellow book bloggers on Twitter and it is always funny when I see a Tweet from them with #bookproblems or #bookishproblems or #readerproblems because a majority of the time I totally agree with them!  While this entry was a fun topic, a lot of the problems I listed are still very relevant and for the benefit of future readers, I wish that they weren’t.

6.  Ten Authors I Really Want/Wish to Meet – May 12th, 2015

Looking at this entry again, my author choices still haven’t changed and maybe one day I will have the opportunity to meet at least 2 of them.  Don’t get me wrong, I would love to meet all of them, but I don’t know likely that is.

7.  Ten Favorite Non-Main Characters – May 19th, 2015

This day’s entry was actually a freebie, but it turned out to be one of my favorite Top Ten Tuesday blog posts.  What I like so much about this list is that I was able to focus on characters who lend something to their story, but aren’t the main character.  We always focus heavily on the accomplishments of the main character because they are the focus, but I don’t feel that should cheapen or lessen the impact of other characters.  I am a reader with a deep appreciation for world building as well as for a strong, well done cast of characters.

8.  Ten Books I Plan to Have in my Beach Bag, which evolved into The Next Ten Books/Series I Plan to Read – May 26th, 2015

*looks at list, looks at tablet, looks at list again* Yep, I am still loosely following this list and I am doing it at a decent pace.  I doubt that I will be able to complete the entire list before the end of the year, but hopefully I will make a good dent in it.

9.  Ten Books I’d Love to See as Movies/TV Shows – June 2nd, 2015

It is always fun to imagine your favorite books as movies or tv shows, even if they have tried many times and always seem to fail while still in production!  Oh well, maybe one day…

10.  Ten Most Anticipated Releases for the Rest of 2015 – June 9th, 2015

It is always fun to look ahead at future releases and get yourself mentally hyped up and prepared to read this awesome book.  I have said in the past, I typically don’t read a lot of “new” books or at least not right as they are released.  This isn’t to say that I don’t get hyped up about new releases, but I am one of those readers that typically likes to read a series from beginning to end without having to play the waiting game!  Granted, this means I could read more stand alone novels of the new release variety, but I just don’t follow new releases well enough to do that.  Honestly, I just need to do a better job of following bookish news so I can take part in reading newer books.

 What are your Top Ten Favorite Top Ten Posts of the Past?  Leave me a link to your Top Ten Tuesday post in the comments below!  Don’t have a blog, but want to share your Top Ten with me all the same?  Then feel free to list them in a comment below!  Until next time<3

Book Blog Sig

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

