Liebster Award – 5/27/2015

I have been nominated for a Liebster Award by Jillian, aka Galifrey Idiot (though she is definitely not an idiot >.>) and I want to thank her very much for the nomination!  If you haven’t had the opportunity to check out her book blog, then you should definitely jump on over and check it out!

My Responses

1.  If you could visit any fictional place, where would it be?

Hogwarts is definitely at the top of my list for fictional places that I want to visit, I love the world of Harry Potter so that would be an amazing opportunity.  Aside from that, I think I would love to experience the world of Lyra’s Oxford from Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials partially because I am curious as to what my dæmon would be (likely a cat of some kind).

2. If you could ask an author any question and be given an honest answer, what would you ask?

I am honestly not sure, the easy answer would be to ask why JK Rowling killed off so many of her wonderful characters.  Other than that, I would have to really think on this one to make it worthwhile.

3. If you could ask an author about the life of a character(s) after the end of a book, who would you ask about?

I am incredibly curious about the lives of the characters from His Dark Materials, specifically Will and Lyra once they closed the final remaining portal connecting their Oxfords doomed to never see each other again.  I would like to see how they have grown since the end of the series.  I think that there has been talk of Pullman possibly releasing a new book which would address this?  If not, I hope we will find out one day.

4. Where is your favourite place to read?

I have a reading nook situated underneath one of the windows in our loft space and adjacent to my boyfriend’s computer desk which is where I spend most of my time reading.  The kitties also love to utilize my reading nook for their daytime naps as well as laying on the window sill staring outside and knocking down my stuffed animals which are situated on a body pillow on top of the couch, if I kept all of my stuffed animals on the bed it would just get crowded after a while.  Yes, I am turning 29 this year and still have/love stuffed animals.  Sometimes I will read lounging on the bed or in one of our sitting chairs, but not as often because they aren’t as comfortable after long periods of time.

5. What book will always make you laugh, no matter how many times you read it?

Laugh?  Hm…I don’t really know.  I haven’t really read anything with a lot of humor or at least not that sticks out in my mind as something that will make me laugh every time I read it.

6. What is a book that you love, but other people just don’t ‘get’?

Another tough question, but I think it would have to be His Dark Materials by Phillip Pullman.  This book is very much hit or miss with people, you either find others who absolutely love it or those who just don’t get it or even individuals extremely offended stating it is anti-religion or whatever.  If anything, when it comes to religion specifically, I think this book emphasizes the idea of spirituality in favor of the tenets of organized religion which raises all sorts of interesting points and questions that I am likely no where close to qualified to answer.

7. What’s your most recent read?

I just recently finished reading and reviewing The Fires of Heaven, book 5 in The Wheel of Time Series,  by Robert Jordan – feel free to check it out here!  Right now, I am reading the sixth book in the series Lord of Chaos.

8. If you were given the power to be able cast a single wizarding spell from Harry Potter, what would you want it to be?

I would definitely want the power to apparate, it would be such a convenience.

9. What makes or breaks a book for you? (As an example, if a book has amazing one-liners then I’m sold.)

I don’t really have any characteristics which make or break books for me, it is more a combination of things.  I want to feel immersed in the world and what is occurring in the story and if I can’t do that, I tend to not enjoy the book as much.  It doesn’t mean I will give up reading the book, but I tend to not be as invested in the book as I would be otherwise.

10. Is there a book that you have ever physically thrown across the room or had to put down? If so, what was it?

Considering that the majority of reading is done on my tablet and previously on a Kindle, I don’t go around physically throwing books.  I most recently wound up putting down The Fires of Heaven for quite some time before I finished it and have spent a lot of time shaking my head in anger in many different books along the way.

11. Why do you blog about books?

I blog about books because I just enjoy books and reading so much that I wanted to share it with other people who enjoy it just as much as I do.  Sure, not all of us will be reading the exact same things but I think that is part of the fun.  Who knows, my writing about a specific book could introduce someone to an interesting new read that they didn’t know existed and vice versa, I could just as easily stumble across someone else’s rave review of a book that then piques my interest.  I just really enjoy sharing books with people and having them share with me as well.

My Nominees – I’ll be honest, I didn’t check follower counts but I wanted to nominate these individuals for being awesome:

Molly Mortensen of Woven Magic

JJ of Book Lover Blog

Ashley of What’s She Reading?

Please answer the questions I did and then nominate your own award recipients!

Thanks for the fun and I look forward to reading your responses!

Book Blog Sig

Leave a Reply

