Status Update – 4/30/2015 and Upcoming Stuffs

Hello again lovelies, it has been 2 weeks since my last post which in the blog-verse is a lot of time spent away which I do apologize for.  I have talked, at great length, about my depression and the difficulties that I have been going through because of it and at times it has made it difficult to be consistent in my hobbies and has placed me into a really bad reading funk that I am looking to break out of.  I don’t want to focus on the negatives, I want to talk about the good things – the positives in my life and I want to share in them with all of you.  So please, kick back relax and share in the happy things past and to come with me!

My Daughter Turned 8

I know I talked about this in my most recent post, but my daughter Annalyse turned 8 years old on April 14th and I seriously don’t know where the time has gone and how I wound up with an 8 year old.  I feel like it was just yesterday that I was taking her to her first day of school and all of that stuff.  Now she is in second grade, learning in both English and Spanish, and reads at the level of a 6th grader.  Just an all around amazing kid and I am lucky to call myself her mom.

The continuous job search

The last time I posted, I wrote about how I had applied for a Library/Media Clerk position in my daughter’s school district and that I was super excited about the position, well I sadly wasn’t chosen to move on from the 5-minute interview portion.  I then applied for a position working in the office at one of the high schools in the same district, but was immediately sent a letter informing me that while my application had been accepted I wouldn’t be moving on to the interview portion.  Just last week another Library/Media Clerk position opened up at another school site in the district and I have put in an application for it – I am hoping that since I am more familiar with the interview process that I will have a more favorable response than I did the first time should I be chosen to interview for this one.  The position is still in the application process, so I won’t know where I stand until next week.  We will see how it goes!  In addition to applying for this position, there is another position I am looking to apply to in another district working as a Data Entry Clerk in (I believe) their district office.  I need to have a certificated typing test completed, which I am going to be doing tomorrow, in order to apply – otherwise, the job looks like a really solid opportunity that I have relevant experience for with decent hours and a salary range I would be happy with.  I just want to work, I want a job and I am going to keep applying until I get one – the worst they can tell me is no thank you but that doesn’t mean I am willing to give up, it just means I try again until I succeed.  In the mean time, I am still working on HITs via Amazon MTURK and while the money isn’t anything significant it is nice to have the small extra bit of spending money in my pocket.

THE HEALTH STUFF

2015-04-30 18.19.00

In light of a lot of stuff going on, I have also been more health conscious of late and have been working out in addition to monitoring my caloric intake.  This is a graphic showing my calories burned since April 3rd according to the Fitbit application.  While I haven’t significantly changed my diet or become exclusionary, I monitor the amount of calories and ensure I don’t ingest too many.  My goal is to eat 400 calories less than I have burned for the day – so on a typical day of doing very little I burn around 2100 calories naturally and attempt to stick to eating around 1800.  Overall, I have done pretty well staying within that range and have done so for about 2 months now.

2015-04-30 18.19.11

  This graphic is from my Misfit app which strictly tracks how much activity/movement I do each day between walking, running, cycling, and swimming while also tracking my sleep.  I have mentioned it before that I like having an activity tracker because I feel it makes me more accountable to my exercise routines, but I am slightly disappointed in the approach of this application at this time because I am not able to gain points towards my daily goal for activities that aren’t strictly walking/running/cycling/swimming.  I have commented on the Android App page that I would like to see that implemented in a future update because a great deal of my physical activity is coming from these workouts and I want to feel accomplished by gaining points for doing them.  Otherwise, the application is amazing since the 2.0 update because of the aesthetic and functionality updates.  I received my Misfit Flash on April 12th and as you can see I have been using it pretty consistently since then.  Granted, I am usually not very close to hitting my goal of 1000 points per day due to what I mentioned above regarding the points system.  April 13th is when I started working out following Kayla Itsines’s Bikini Body Guide.  You can make fun of the name all you want, but the workouts are serious and you can feel them!  I’ll be completely honest with you, I don’t see any changes physically but I can feel the changes mentally.  I started off working out in a sort of defeatist frame of mind where I didn’t think I could do this, but having done it for a couple of weeks now I actually know that I can do this – it is all about frame of mind and being willing to work for it.  I am also realistic, I know that I am never again going to be as skinny as I was in high school or even my first couple years of college and in accepting that I am willing to be happier in my own skin.  I am not looking for some magic number, I am looking for a healthy weight where I can feel good about myself and the way I look – that is what is important for me is feeling good about myself in all facets.  There are so many facets which make up the human self and I want to feel positive about all of them – right now, I feel positive about a majority of them but there are some I don’t and through being willing to step up and make changes I am feeling a little bit better each day.  The sad part is, I tweaked my ankle the last time I visited my mother and I guess it was worse than I thought because working out on it has aggravated the injury to the point where it is sore a majority of the day.  I have been resting it since yesterday which means no working out or walks which has made me incredibly antsy because I miss that extra energy burn that comes from exercising.  I am hoping that it will be better next week and I can just start Pre-Training Week 3 over again.  I am also hoping it heals because I have a lot going on next week!

MY UPCOMING SCHEDULE MAY 4TH – 10TH

Yes, I actually have things going on in life and I am somewhat excited about all of them.  My daughter attends self-defense lessons every Monday afternoon/evening, but this week is super special because she is preparing a demonstration with her teacher to perform for her talent show on Wednesday morning at school.  She has had so much fun with her self-defense lessons and it is awesome that she is going to be able to show off some of her hard work.  Since November, she has been training in a mixture of judo and jujitsu with a long time friend of mine who has been studying martial arts since he was a kid and holds a black belt.  Overall, exciting stuff.  I also have an ARC Review that will be posted on Tuesday May 5th for Children of the Keeper by A. Roy King the second book in The Cursed Ground Series and the sequel to his The Child-Stealers which I reviewed previously.  So be on the look out for that!  In addition to this, my boyfriend and I will be celebrating our 5th anniversary together on the 7th – time just seriously flies and while relationships have their ups and downs we are happy together and that is what matters.  The two of us plan to spend our anniversary weekend helping my mom work hospitality for an English Setter specialty.  Sure, it isn’t an overly romantic way to celebrate an anniversary but we will make the best of it and have fun over the weekend.  I think once this long week is over, I will look at starting to get back into regularly blogging again by participating in the few weekly memes I was taking part in before.  I think I am ready to beat this reading funk and to attempt to become a functioning member of the book blog community again.  I am not going to make any absolute promises, but I am going to make a solid attempt to do so because I have missed reading and sharing in reading with all of you.  I am looking forward to everything that is to come, until next time my lovelies!~

Book Blog Sig

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

