Top Ten Tuesday | My Bookish Problems

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke the Bookish where bloggers are encouraged to post their own top ten list responses to the topic of the week.  This week’s topic is:  Ten Book Related Problems I Have.  The truth is that if I have 99 problems, books shouldn’t be 1 – yet, somehow there are always those bookish problems that you just can’t avoid.  Here is my list!

1.  Why is everything a series? – Now I love a good story just as much as the next person, but recently it feels as if all of the new releases are just the first book in what is going to be a trilogy or series of some sort which can get incredibly frustrating.  I am a reader that very rarely will read a series while it is still being written, typically I will wait until the series has been completed and then I will read it from beginning to end.  There are only 3 series I am reading which are currently still being written:  Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Series and Merry Gentry Series, and Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter Novels.  I just don’t do well in the time between novel releases, but by having so few series still being written I have been able to distract myself with other books on my TBR list, speaking of which…

2.  My TBR List is Ever Growing – Just taking a brief glance at my TBR shelf on Goodreads shows that it has a count of 740 books, I am sure it isn’t the highest number out there, but that is still a pretty high number and it seems like that number is only increasing.  Truthfully, there are always going to be great books being released and when I find them I am always going to want to read them, but I really need to start digging into my TBR list.  Though, I do spend a lot of time reading the books I have listed on it, such as my current read through of The Wheel of Time series, I need to stop replacing each book read with like 3 or 4 new ones I want to read.

3.  Inability to Pick a Favorite – I have to have qualifiers in order to pick a favorite book, such as:  Favorite book series, favorite <GENRE> novel, etc.  If someone asked me what my favorite book is, it would take me probably 5 to 10 minutes to think of a single book and then it would take me even longer to explain why I picked that book, etc.  The worst part is, my answer would definitely not be the same every time I was asked because my mood at that exact moment is going to have some sort of impact on my choice.  There are just way too many books I have fallen in love with over the course of my existence making it impossible for me to pick just one favorite.

4.  Storing my Books – I own a large amount of physical books and right now all of them are boxed up and in storage because I don’t have anywhere to utilize my bookshelf in our current living situation.  The problem is that I own such a large number of books they are stored in a few different places:  some are in my storage unit, some are in boxes in our room, some are in boxes in my daughter’s room and closet, some are in boxes in a friend’s storage shed, and I believe some of them may have ended up being moved to my mom’s house.  Regardless, I just have a lot of books – physical and ebook alike.

5.  The Ebook Argument – For a number of years there has been this weird line drawn in the sand between readers separating the physical book readers and the ebook readers.  Truthfully, they are both great mediums and they both meet specific needs for their readers – it shouldn’t matter how you read, the act of reading is what is important.  I am big on reading ebooks just because I find them to be more convenient, but I still love physical books and will purchase physical copies of my favorite books in beautiful editions even if I own the ebook version.  I just think it is important for all us to share in the joy of reading together rather than tearing each other down for how or what we read.

6.  The Edition Issue – I have to admit, one of my favorite things about ebooks is that I tend to not fret as much about the editions and whether or not the cover art matches because I am the only one that sees them, but when it comes to my physical books this is a big deal.  Like most people, I grew up reading the Harry Potter series and I have all 7 of the books in US first edition (yay!) – but the editions that they released last year…they are just gorgeous and now I want to buy them.  I love having beautiful editions of books and if I have a series, all of the books have to be of the same edition and match…it is just a compulsion of mine and a preference.  If I am able to replace the odd one out and get a matching set, then I will typically donate the other(s) to the local library so that someone else can still enjoy the book(s) like I did.  Though, if I did manage to get the new Harry Potter editions I don’t think I would be able to give up my original set…lol.

7.  I Want to Read All the Books – It is hard to face the fact that I am mortal, but knowing that I am mortal and never going to be able to read all of the amazing books that have been written and are still to be written is a tough thing to swallow.  There are just so many books available for the reading and I think it would be mathematically impossible for me to read all of them in my lifetime.  Maybe if I had the reading abilities of the handsome Dr. Spencer Reid from Criminal Minds I could, but even then I don’t know…but seriously, where can I get me some of that reading ability?

8.  The Dreaded Reading Slump – Lets face it, all of us have gone through a reading slump at some point in our lives and it is one of the most frustrating.  I went through a terrible reading slump last year in the late spring/early summer and I just couldn’t bring myself to read anything, it was terrible.  I just put way too much pressure on myself last year, I think, I didn’t read things that I wanted to read and instead focused on reading things that I thought I “should” read.  I am hoping that by just reading things I want to read this year that I will avoid having a slump and can instead just focus on all of the amazing books out there.

9.  The Reader Stigma – My entire pre-college school life was filled with my peers either looking at me weird or making fun of me because I enjoyed reading books.  Apparently books weren’t supposed to be fun, books were only supposed to be something you read begrudgingly because they were homework assignments and your grades relied upon them.  I never understood that thought process because there are just way too many good books out there.  When I was attending high school they started this initiative my junior year where we had 15 minutes of time set aside in between second and third period for Sustained Silent Reading and I was one of the very few students that was actually excited about it and would bring a reading book with me every single day.  I am just glad that most college students and other adults don’t look at you as strangely for enjoying books.

10.  The Book to Movie Issue – My boyfriend and I went to see “The Hobbit:  The Battle of the Five Armies” as part of our Valentine’s Day date, it was great and the movie was great and our date day was great.  Apparently I spoiled him though because I started to cry and cover my eyes before some big character deaths had even happened just because I knew they were coming since I had read the book within the last two years.  He had read the book as well, but it had been more like he read it as assigned reading in elementary school and hadn’t read it since – so he didn’t remember as much of the story as I did.  Anyways to get to the point – These were well done adaptations, the issue here is when the movie adaptation of a book is just…terrible, or focuses on elements that weren’t the main point of the story, or they just miss the entire point all together.  I also have the problem where I will picture a book in my head and then when the movie is released it isn’t anything at all like how I thought it would be…yeah, I am one of those types…

What are your book related problems?!  Feel free to tell yours or leave me a link to your Top Ten Tuesday post in the comments below!

Book Blog Sig

6 Comments

    • Ugh, I hate the reader stigma. It was one of the hardest things to deal with growing up because you are still learning who you are and being made fun of for something that you really enjoy is incredibly hurtful and does nothing for an individual’s developing identity or growing confidence. I swear, some junior high and high school kids are so terrible.

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday – My Favorite Top Ten Tuesday Topics | Reviews of a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

