Top Ten Tuesday | Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t/Want To Read From the Fantasy Genre

 

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke the Bookish where bloggers are encouraged to post their own top ten list responses to the topic of the week.  This week’s topic is:  Top Ten Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t/Want To Read From the Fantasy Genre!  If you are a regular follower of my blog, then you likely know that I do read a lot of novels which fall within the genre of fantasy but I have by no means read them all.  Here are ten that most people are shocked to find out I haven’t yet read.

1.  A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin

I admit that I haven’t read these books, but I have been watching Game of Thrones on HBO since it started – that sort of counts right?  I watch the show with my boyfriend who isn’t a big reader and he wants us to experience the story together – i.e. he doesn’t want me to know what is going to happen.  It is bad enough that even with non-book based movies/shows I can guess what is going to happen – if I already read the books I admit that I would likely have become insufferable.  I’ve been trying to convince him that we should read them together for a while now, that hasn’t gone anywhere and I doubt it will sadly.  Oh well, I will read them one day!

 

2.  The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

When I was in elementary school, my class was given The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe for assigned reading and that is where my curiosity for the story began, but I wasn’t able to find the time to actually read the other novels at that age because I got distracted by so many other things that I thought were cooler.  I admit, I regret that decision now because I know that whenever I read them it isn’t going to be with that same childlike wonder that I would have had and I think that is why I have put it off for so long.  I have all of the books, both hard copies and ebooks, but I just haven’t read them yet.  Maybe if/when my daughter reads The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe for her class we will read the whole series together.  I think that will make it even more enjoyable for me.

3.  Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy by Laini Taylor

From what I have heard, this trilogy has everything I could want in a fantasy book trilogy but I just haven’t yet gotten around to reading it yet.  The three books are definitely on my TBR list and I am hoping to read them this year.  Maybe these will be what I pick up once I have finished Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time.

4.  Oz Series by L. Frank Baum

As  a child, I grew up in a house with my grandparents and great grandparents in close proximity and I have always been incredibly appreciative of what that experience has taught me.  I remember watching the movie “The Wizard of Oz” on television one night with the entire family and my grandmother started talking about the books, since I was a reader even at that age I was curious about the books and asked her about them.  We tried to find me a set of all of them, but never accomplished the task and I moved on to reading other books.  I have always wanted to go back and read them, but just haven’t done so though I have an ebook edition which includes all 14 of the original books.  One day.

5.  The Lunar Chronicles Series by Marissa Meyer

This series has been receiving so much hype everywhere I have looked on the internet, and I still can’t believe I haven’t read it yet.  It is a retelling of some familiar and favorite fairy tales, which just sounds absolutely amazing and like it would be right up my alley.  So, why haven’t I read it yet?  I don’t even know why.

6.  The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Series by Douglas Adams

This is another set of books that I have never had the opportunity of reading, but I have always wanted to.  I mean, I am already such a nerd as it is and this will only increase my nerdiness among my fellow nerdy friends – that means I have to, right?!  At least I know that 42 is always the answer, I just don’t know why and must find out!

7.  The Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas

I have seen a lot of hype surrounding this series across the internet and from what I have gathered it is a series that is well worth the read.  An awesome female protagonist in a world filled with magic, mystery, and intrigue.  I will be looking into it to read in the future.

8.  Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt

I recall watching this movie when I was a teenager and falling in love with the story, falling in love with Alexis Bledel, and thinking about the concept of living forever.  I realize now that the characters in the book are much younger than the movie, I believe Winny was a teenager in the movie but in the book she is supposed to be 10 years old.  The idea of living forever is a truly interesting one, a concept all of us think we want until we realize that it would mean watching the ones we love dying around us.  It is a fantasy novel which I need to read.

9.  The Emelan Series by Tamora Pierce

I am going to be a bit more specific about this one because when I was in junior high and my younger sister was in elementary school, she brought home the Circle of Magic Quartet from the book store and she read them.  After she was done with them, I decided that I would read them because I was curious and like magic.  I really liked the stories, the magic, the characters – I really liked the series.  So I then read The Circle Opens Quartet, and I have read The Will of the Empress which is the first book of Circle Reforged.  I need to read the most recent ones in the series Melting Stones, Battle Magic, and a currently untitled one.  I can’t wait!

10.  The Books of Faerie Series by Maggie Stiefvater

I have spoken before about how much I love faeries, so it comes as no surprise that there would be some faerie related novels found on my list.  I read the synopsis on the back of Lament a while back and I remember saying to myself that I wanted to read it.  My love for faeries mixed with my own musical talents lead me to really wanting to read this book when I originally found it.  In recent months, I have heard a lot of good things about Maggie Stiefvater’s work though I have yet to have read any of it myself so I am looking forward to a good faerie story.

What are the Top Ten Books You Want to Read from your Genre of Choice?  Either send me a link to your post or list them in the comments below!

Book Blog Sig

3 Comments

    • I just checked out your linked post and I have a couple of your listed books on my TBR list as well, specifically A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray. The cover of that book completely drew me in upon first sight! Also, I can’t believe you haven’t read all of the Harry Potter novels and you really really should if you get the chance/time to do so. This could just be my nostalgia from growing up with them talking, but they are well worth the read.

      Thanks for the comment and for stopping by! =D

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday – My Favorite Top Ten Tuesday Topics | Reviews of a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

