Want to Read Wednesday – The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides

Melanie’s Want to Read Wednesday #15

Source for Image

The Virgin Suicides

TITLE:  The Virgin Suicides

AUTHOR:  Jeffrey Eugenides

GOODREADS’ AVG. RATING:  3.81 out of 5 stars; 131,480 ratings

SYNOPSIS PROVIDED:

The haunting, humorous and tender story of the brief lives of the five entrancing Lisbon sisters, The Virgin Suicides, now a major film, is Jeffrey Eugenides’ classic debut novel.

The shocking thing about the girls was how nearly normal they seemed when their mother let them out for the one and only date of their lives. Twenty years on, their enigmatic personalities are embalmed in the memories of the boys who worshiped them and who now recall their shared adolescence: the brassiere draped over a crucifix belonging to the promiscuous Lux; the sisters’ breathtaking appearance on the night of the dance; and the sultry, sleepy street across which they watched a family disintegrate and fragile lives disappear.

Source for Synopsis

WHY I WANT TO READ IT:

This is a book which sort of came upon me as a surprise choice – as in, I am surprised that it wasn’t already mentioned on my TBR list!  I mentioned in last week’s Friday Finds post that I had finally added it to my Goodreads TBR list even though I have known of this book for a long time.  I was reminded that this book existed when I saw Kath’s review of Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall because the similarity of that book’s cover and the movie poster for The Virgin Suicides is striking.  While this is the reason I added it to my list, the reason why I want to read it is much simpler – I saw the movie and because of that I have to read the book.  My long-time best friend is a fan of the movie, I can still remember her talking about it though I had never seen it when we were teenagers.  She would tell me about the characters, tell me about what they were like and their story…it was almost as if they were real people the way she talked about them.  It wasn’t until a couple years ago when I finally had the opportunity to watch the movie and I can understand how these characters became so real – the truth is, in some ways any of us could be sharing in the experiences of the Lisbon sisters.

Perhaps once I read the book I will then watch the movie again and do a comparison post of the two for fun, we will see what the future holds.

What is your “Want to Read” for this Wednesday?  Tell me about your choice in the comments below!

Book Blog Sig

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: January Round Up | Reviews of a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

