My Thoughts Monday – Reader Questionnaire

I was making my way through the WordPress Reader when I came across this set of questions on bluchickenninja’s blog and thought “Hey, why not!”

1. What is your favorite book?

There are so many books that I could name that I consider to be my favorites, so I will simplify this a little bit.

1925427016650096

Favorite Read of 2014:  The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

All-Time Favorite Read:  His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

2. What are your goals? For the year? For your life?

Get things settled with my university so I can finish the last 3 classes for my degree in accounting and to feel happier/healthier.

3. Are you a writer? If so, tell me about your work.

I don’t know if I would go so far as to consider myself a writer, though I have spent a lot of time writing over the course of my life.  My writing currently includes my blogging and a manuscript in the developmental stages (i.e. it is mostly a bunch of thoughts, notes, scribbles, and outlines).  I hope to possibly have a first draft written by the end of this year, but am not stressing over whether or not it happens.  In the past, my writing mostly entailed poetry in order to help me deal with some of the negativity that I was going through.

4. If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?

I have always dreamed of travelling to Tokyo, Japan and would love to spend some of my life there.

5. What was the last movie you saw in the theater and was it worthwhile?

I believe it was The Hobbit:  The Desolation of Smaug and it was most definitely worth it because while the LOTR movies are awesome, this one was even more awesome because my boyfriend and I went with our friends to see it which is always a good time.

6. I’m curious, are there any books that you’ve tried to read and simply couldn’t finish? This is a no judgement zone.

Unable to finish?  No.  I will always finish a book because I am a reader who has to know how the story ends, but there are times where I will skim to the end rather than focusing as I normally would.  I can’t recall any books with which I have done this recently though.

7. Are you currently working on a new book/project right now? If it’s secret, you don’t have to tell me about it. If so, however, I hope it’s going well.

The only book/project I am currently working on is the manuscript I mentioned above which I have dubbed The Soulmate Effect.  This is only the working title of the project as this effect is a major plot point for my book – an actual title will be chosen at a later time when more of the story has been developed.

8. If you could live in any of your favorite books, which one would you choose?

Harry Potter and Hogwarts – Ravenclaw for life!

9. Are there any book-to-movie adaptations that you think are just incredible? That you absolutely hated?

My favorite would most definitely be the LOTR movies – hands down.  They aren’t a perfect retelling of the story, but I love and appreciate them for what they are.  I greatly disliked The Giver – I am actually in the process of writing up a post about my issues with it that I will likely be posting next week.

10. What do you look for in a book that you want to read? What’s the first thing to capture your attention?

A lot of my book choice comes from recommendation – whether it is a personal friend or other book blogs writing about a particular book.  My attention is usually grabbed by the synopsis of a book piquing my interest and then my eyes being captured by the cover – I admit, I have a soft spot for a gorgeous cover.

11. If you’re an author, what do you do when you first get an idea for a book?

I won’t consider myself an author, not yet, but anytime I get an idea for my book or a post the first thing I do is write it down.  I utilize the Evernote application and run it on my phone, tablet, and my computer so if/when an idea strikes me I open the app and will typically store the idea there.  If I am unable to use the application, then I will either write it in a notebook, on a loose piece of paper on my desk, and if none of those options are available I will sometimes go to such lengths as to write it on the back of my hand.  Yeah, that was definitely one of those things I got into trouble for a lot when I was in high school – I really loved to write on myself.

12. How do you feel about different genres? Romance? YA? Sci-Fi? Poetry? Do you have any favorites? Any least-favorites?

While I can see the benefit of utilizing genres to describe books, I am not a huge fan of the idea.  I think there is so much more to a good book than it just being a specific genre and genre is not one of the characteristics I use to determine whether or not a book is one I want to read.  For me it is all about how the synopsis sums up the story that determines whether or not I will choose that book.

13. If you could meet any writer in the world, dead or alive, who would it be?

Hmmm, that is a hard question.  Probably J.K. Rowling just to thank her for the world of Harry Potter, but aside from that there are too many others to count.

14. Do you prefer Fiction or Non-Fiction?

Fiction.  I find fiction calming in its ability to open our minds to the power of creativity and imagination, being able to experience worlds where magic is real – it is beautiful.

15. Are there any characters that everyone loves that you can’t stand? Or vice versa?

I think the closest I came to this experience was during my reading of the Divergent Trilogy when I outright said that I didn’t like Tris, but I don’t know whether or not that was a popular or unpopular opinion.

16. What do you like to do besides reading/writing?

Netflix binges are common – my current one is Criminal Minds and we are on Season 8 after starting the show over from the beginning.

Video Games are another of my major addictions – I have played a lot of WoW, League of Legends (though I am not that great and don’t play a lot), I am also enjoying The Sims 4 and a lot of other PC/PS3 games.

17. If you could be remembered for one thing, what would it be?

This one is going to sound cheesy, but I hope that my daughter will always remember that I did the best that I could do for her with what I have to offer.

18. What is your favorite guilty pleasure book?

I don’t have a single book that is my guilty pleasure, though I also am not one who feels guilty about my pleasures =P  My pleasure reading mostly consists of Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series and her Merry Gentry Series.

19. Do you have a reading goal set for this year?

My goal is to read 36 books this year, I had set a goal of 75 for last year but I ended up reading way less due to burnout so I am going for a somewhat more reasonable goal.

20. Tell me anything about yourself that I haven’t asked. Random fact. Weird human trick. Whatever.

If I move my forehead just right, I can make my ears wriggle.  That is a weird human trick, right?

If you have taken part in this survey, then feel free to leave me a link to your answers in the comments below!  If you haven’t done this survey, then can I possibly encourage you to do so and leave me a link when you have?  =)  I would love to read all of your responses!

Book Blog Sig

 

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: January Round Up | Reviews of a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

