Want to Read Wednesday – The American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin

Melanie’s Want to Read Wednesday #14

11072889

Source for Image

The American Heiress

TITLE:  The American Heiress

AUTHOR:  Daisy Goodwin

GOODREADS’ AVG. RATING:  3.39 out of 5 stars; 18,883 ratings

SYNOPSIS PROVIDED:

Beautiful, vivacious Cora Cash, the wealthiest debutante in America, is spirited away from the glamour and comfort of her Park Avenue mansion and suddenly finds herself Duchess of Wareham, mistress of Lulworth Castle, married to Ivo, the most eligible bachelor in England. As Cora is soon to discover, nothing in this strange new world is quite as it seems. Her handsome new husband is withdrawn and secretive; the English social scene is stuffed with pitfalls and traps; and there are increasingly dangerous forces at work, people who wish she’d never met Ivo in the first place. THE AMERICAN HEIRESS is a dazzling debut novel from Daisy Goodwin, whose brilliant new voice is reminiscent of Henry James, Edith Wharton, and Kate Morton.

Source for Synopsis

WHY I WANT TO READ IT:

Truth be told, this is most definitely a case of me judging a book by its cover.  During my mini-vacation during the Christmas/New Year’s season, I spent some time shopping and anytime I go shopping I am immediately drawn towards the books.  While we were walking around Target’s book section, I was looking at their shelves and when I saw a book that caught my fancy I would then scan it with the Goodreads app on my phone to get a more in depth look at the book itself.  That was most definitely the case with The American Heiress.  I found the cover image striking, a woman standing in profile with her head turned staring out an open door with a balcony surrounded by the play of light and shadow.  While the synopsis wasn’t anything overly eye-catching, I was intrigued by the time period of mid-1890’s which is towards the end of the Victorian Era in England.  I have a certain fondness for modern fiction novels which are set in Victorian England – it is sort of a weakness of mine.  I will most definitely be looking to pick it up in the future to fill my Victorian Era needs.

What is your current want to read?  – Share them with me in the comments below!

Book Blog Sig

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: January Round Up | Reviews of a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

