Currently Reading – The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

2548559

Source for Image

TITLE:  The Lost Symbol

SERIES:  The Robert Langdon Series, Book 3

AUTHOR:  Dan Brown

FORMAT:  Kindle version

PAGES/LOCATIONS:  670 pages/10,354 locations

CURRENT LOCATION:  ~p. 348/loc. 5446/Ch. 73

GOODREADS’ AVG. RATING:  3.60 out of 5 stars; 290,445 ratings

SYNOPSIS PROVIDED:

Famed Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon answers an unexpected summons to appear at the U.S. Capitol Building. His planned lecture is interrupted when a disturbing object—artfully encoded with five symbols—is discovered in the building. Langdon recognizes in the find an ancient invitation into a lost world of esoteric, potentially dangerous wisdom. When his mentor Peter Solomon—a longstanding Mason and beloved philanthropist—is kidnapped, Langdon realizes that the only way to save Solomon is to accept the mystical invitation and plunge headlong into a clandestine world of Masonic secrets, hidden history, and one inconceivable truth . . . all under the watchful eye of Dan Brown’s most terrifying villain to date. Set within the hidden chambers, tunnels, and temples of Washington, D.C., The Lost Symbol is an intelligent, lightning-paced story with surprises at every turn–Brown’s most exciting novel yet.

Source for Synopsis

IMPRESSIONS SO FAR:

My thoughts regarding The Robert Langdon Series by Dan Brown have definitely changed a lot over the course of my reading it – some feelings negative while others have been positive.  As I have read The Lost Symbol, I have found myself having a much more positive experience.  I am not sure if this can be attributed to it being a better story or if it is just because this is my initial read through of the novel and the newness of it is still impacting my overall thoughts.  Regardless of the reason, I am just happy to be having a positive reading experience with the novel.

I have found that what amazes me about this novel’s story is how all of the events are connected to each other.  What is typical with the subject matter found within these novels is their inherent focus on history and creating an amazing story based upon interpretation of various historical facts, myths, and theories – yet, Brown does this in another way through the back story of Peter Solomon and his family.  I won’t say that I was completely surprised to find out that the antagonist/Mal’akh was someone from Solomon’s past, but learning the extent of their history did catch me off guard.  I wasn’t expecting there to be such a haunting relationship between them which encompassed not just Peter but also the entirety of his family – his son, his mother, and his sister.  To survive the tragedies experienced by the Solomon family at the hands of Mal’akh shows an incredible strength of character and will, but being inside his head and getting an understanding of just how determined he is to have one of the greatest kept secrets of the Freemasons is truly scary.  I am interested in further development of his character, I want to know more about his motivations and why he feels the need to destroy such a wealth of knowledge.

Langdon is also proving to be a more believable character, so far, over the course of this novel.  He has retained an academic skepticism regarding the secrets of the Freemasons, whereas in previous books it felt as if he was all too quick and willing to believe everything he was being told.  What is interesting is that this very same characteristic, this willingness to believe, is what gets him into trouble in this novel because it leads him to Washington D.C. and initiates this series of events.  Yet, I am thrown for a loop when it comes to Director Sato and her part to play.  I find her to be a disturbing character only because I don’t understand her, I don’t understand what is motivating her to work against Langdon.  I mean, I can understand that from her perspective Langdon is hiding something which makes him suspicious but at the same time it begs the question, why is she so focused on Langdon?  I am beginning to suspect that Mal’akh is possibly manipulating Sato somehow, but I am having difficulty guessing how and to what end.  See, I just can’t enjoy a good novel without over thinking it!

Anyways, I am looking forward to continuing my read through and hope to finish it next week so I can then start my read through of Inferno!  Until then<3

Book Blog Sig

Leave a Reply

