Want to Read Wednesday – Stolen by Lucy Christopher

Melanie’s Want to Read Wednesday #9

11180068

Source for Image

TITLE:  Stolen

AUTHOR:  Lucy Christopher

GOODREADS’ AVG. RATING:  3.94 out of 5 stars; 36,473 ratings

SYNOPSIS PROVIDED:

It happened like this. I was stolen from an airport. Taken from everything I knew, everything I was used to. Taken to sand and heat, dirt and danger. And he expected me to love him.

This is my story.

A letter from nowhere.

Sixteen year old Gemma is kidnapped from Bangkok airport and taken to the Australian Outback. This wild and desolate landscape becomes almost a character in the book, so vividly is it described. Ty, her captor, is no stereotype. He is young, fit and completely gorgeous. This new life in the wilderness has been years in the planning. He loves only her, wants only her. Under the hot glare of the Australian sun, cut off from the world outside, can the force of his love make Gemma love him back?

The story takes the form of a letter, written by Gemma to Ty, reflecting on those strange and disturbing months in the outback. Months when the lines between love and obsession, and love and dependency, blur until they don’t exist – almost.

Source for Synopsis

WHY I WANT TO READ IT:

I came across this novel on accident earlier this year.  I was looking through Amazon, specifically their personal recommendations section based on your buying history/interest, when I happened to see this book.  I couldn’t help but fall in love with the minimalist approach to this cover, what appears to be broken glass with a single butterfly, and then the the words “A letter to my captor” – I read the synopsis and was instantly hooked, the book became a must read.  I find it interesting because Stockholm Syndrome is a condition which is incredibly difficult for individuals to understand – we on the outside find it difficult to imagine how a victim could come to have any sort of positive feelings towards their captor.  It isn’t difficult to imagine a captor having these types of feelings towards a victim, especially if there motivations are more sexual than monetary.  The difficulty lies in understanding how a victim could somehow fall in love with their captor, how would such feelings even begin to develop towards them?  The very thought of being ripped from everything familiar in your life by someone is an incredibly scary thought and one where I would imagine feelings of romance would have difficulty developing.

I have a feeling that the majority of her positive feelings towards her captor are going to develop based upon her seeming reliance on him in this new and unfamiliar environment.  For whatever reason, he has chosen to keep her safe and protect her forcing her to rely on him for that safety.  It is basic psychology where we as humans will form bonds based upon our the satisfaction of our most basic of needs, which include our own safety.  This book is going to be interesting, not just as a story but also in exploring victim psychology.  I admit, I don’t have a very strong background in psychology outside of a college freshman intro level class, based upon therapy I have undergone previously for my depression, and my over familiarity with profiling from Criminal Minds.  So believe me, I am definitely not an expert on psychology but that hasn’t stopped me from being interested in it.  Overall, I look forward to getting the chance to read this book!

Book Blog Sig

Leave a Reply

