Status Update – 12/5/2014

On November 17th I took the time to write a status update, giving you a look into what had been going on in my life at that point and I am sadly doing that again rather than writing anything overly original.  I spent a lot of time sick with that cold and stomach flu combo and it just drained me of a lot of my energy, I couldn’t bring myself to do much of anything over the course of about 3 weeks – I literally didn’t want to do anything.  I ended up letting #BookBlogWriMo and NaNoWriMo pass me by, while reading very little.  I just didn’t have the energy or the strength to do anything and for that my blogging suffered.  I constantly checked in, but I didn’t do much in the way of communicating with other bloggers as I had.  Overall, I am just disappointed in myself because I really wanted to follow through on these things and I didn’t.  I also feel as if I have let down my followers by not being around very much during all of this sickness stuff, and for that I apologize to all of you and promise I will do better to at least regularly check in when sick like I was at least once a week.  On that note, let me share what I have been up to for the past few weeks.

CURRENTLY READING:  The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown, book 3 in The Robert Langdon Series.

Yep, I am still plucking away at this novel.  I have read the first fifty chapters of the novel, roughly 39% of the book.  What is different about this novel in the series is that we see Robert Langdon differently, we see him in a different light that showcases him as a normal and flawed human being – all because this novel starts out with him making a mistake, a simple and human mistake.  It just felt refreshing, to me, to see a more human side of Langdon – to see him mess up, and then go about doing everything within his power to ensure that his mistake is rectified.

CURRENTLY PLAYING:  World of Warcraft:  Warlords of Draenor and The Sims 4

This week was a big week in the World of Warcraft community because Blizzard released the normal and heroic difficulties of Highmaul, the first raid instance of the expansion.  I haven’t had the opportunity to attempt the content myself, but I did watch one of my best friends and his guildmates do so.  I look forward to putting in my own attempts once the raid finder version is released on Tuesday and will hopefully be putting in some attempts at normal and/or heroic with my boyfriend and some of our other WoW friends in the future.

My other video game addiction is newly added to my video game library this week, The Sims 4.  I am a huge fan of The Sims franchise, having played since the release of The Sims in 2000 and owning pretty much every expansion for each version of the game.  One of my favorite things to do is create a household based off of book/movie/television characters and play out their lives in The Sims world.  My largest project of this type was having a household based on the characters from Sailor Moon, specifically:  Usagi/Sailor Moon, Mamoru/Tuxedo Mask, Ami/Sailor Mercury, Rei/Sailor Mars, Makoto/Sailor Jupiter, Minako/Sailor Venus, Chibiusa, Luna, and Artemis (yes, I even included the two cats).  Since I just got the game this week I’ve been learning the nuances of it and the upgraded features of it, so I have been playing a character which is loosely based on myself.  It is kind of silly, but fun at the same time – this game just seriously feeds into my own God-complex =P

CURRENTLY WATCHING:  Criminal Minds

I am a huge fan of the police procedural genre, seriously, I have watched a lot of them.  I ended up getting into the genre through my mother, who still remains an avid fan of them today.  I can remember us watching:  The Pretender, The Profiler, CSI/CSI: Miami/CSI: NY, NCIS, NCIS: Los Angeles, Criminal Minds, Bones, Cold Case, Law & Order/Law & Order: SVU/Law & Order: Criminal Intent, etc.  A typical evening in my four generation household consisted of all of us having dinner at the table together and then afterwards I would watch Jeopardy with my great grandfather (whom I was very close to and am named after), then the SF Giants baseball game with him, if there was no baseball game then it was crime shows with my mom.  I would sprawl out on the water bed in her room, sometimes with my homework if it wasn’t done, and we would just watch the shows and talk about them, trying to figure it out with the characters.  These are definitely some of the happier memories of my childhood.  Fast forward to the present, I just recently finished watching Leverage (I ship Hardison and Parker so hard) and now the boyfriend and I are watching Criminal Minds together.  I love the show, I have watched a majority of the episodes on television over the years either when they were new or as repeats and yet I still find myself in love with the show and its characters.  Honestly, I am absolutely in love with Dr. Spencer Reid.

I just can’t help but find myself attracted to him and not just physically, but mentally.  His intelligence just draws me in…I mean, I can’t even imagine the depth and types of conversations I could have with him because while I think myself intelligent it isn’t anywhere close to his level, yet I am fascinated to know his thoughts on so many different subjects.  We just watched the episode this gif is from last night and I found myself empathizing with Reid’s character because I know and understand what it means to be afraid of your own mind as well due to my past dealings with depression…some of the thoughts that I experienced were truly scary and I am glad that my depression has become more manageable in the years since.  Anyways, yay Criminal Minds!

CURRENT GOING ON’S:  IEM San Jose

Yep, the boyfriend and I are going to be attending IEM San Jose this weekend!  I am definitely excited because this is going to be the second gaming convention I have attended, my first being Blizzcon 2013 in Anaheim.  My boyfriend plays a lot of League of Legends and I admit, at first it wasn’t really my thing…I tried to play, but I was just completely terrible at the game.  It was over a year ago that I had first attempted to play and in order to still share in the game with him, I started to follow the professional teams in the North American LCS.  It is funny because he is a fan of TSM – Team SoloMid and I wound up a fan of CLG – Counter Logic Gaming, rival teams.  This year, we watched all of the matches together through both splits, then worlds, and have been checking in on the expansion tournament as well.  When we found out that there was going to be a League of Legends event here in Northern California, we knew that we had to take the opportunity and go, especially since most events of this type occur in Southern California.  It is also important to point out that his favorite team is going to be playing at this event, so we will both be cheering for TSM this weekend.

Life is basically the same otherwise and I am so happy to be feeling better and working towards getting back into the swing of things.  I look forward to getting the blog back on its normal schedule, likely it will be back to normal around here starting on Wednesday.  Til then, I look forward to catching back up with all of you and having an exciting weekend.  I wish you all the same!

Book Blog Sig

2 Comments

    • Thank you very much for the well wishes, I am so glad to not be sick and am so looking forward to getting back into the swing of things. I haven’t read any of his other books, but I tend to go back and forth about Robert Langdon. I know that I have watched the movies before, but it has been a while so I don’t really remember much about them. I may re-watch them at some point. I love watching The Pretender, I remember having a huge crush on Jarod/Michael T. Weiss! The weekend was a lot of fun, the matches were exciting, and I got to meet a few League of Legends celebrities. Overall, no complaints so far!

Leave a Reply

