#BookBlogWriMo – Day 15

bookblogwrimo-banner

 Welcome to days 15 of #BookBlogWriMo – a writing event focusing on what it means to be a book blog hosted by the lovely Book Bumblings.  You can click the picture above for more information and how to participate!

11/15 – Favorite Book Blogging Things – Feel free to talk about the wonderful host of BookBlogWriMo and how much you love her.

The very thought of attempting to cover and list everything that I enjoy about book blogging is just…

However, I will of course do my best to list and discuss my favorite parts of book blogging.

1.  The Book Blog Community – I have continuously made mention of just how amazing the book blog community is, and quite frankly, I only say that because it is true.  I absolutely love the community events, the giveaways, and even just the basic everyday interaction.  I have found the members of the book blog community to be some of the nicest people I have had the pleasure of interacting with on the internet – and I have come into contact with a lot of people on the internet via my video gaming addiction habit.  I tend to be a somewhat shy person when it comes to interacting with new people and it takes me a lot of courage to actually hit the post button on my first comment to a blog I have yet to talk to.  In doing this, I have never been met with negativity nor have I felt as if what I said wasn’t acknowledged, trust me readers a simple “Like” to a comment in lieu of a reply (whether you just don’t have anything to add to the comment or you’re in a rush at the moment) really goes a long way.  I just love the very idea of what it means to be a book blog – sharing my love of reading with other people who are just as passionate about it as I am, it doesn’t mean that we have to read the exact same books or book genres but we can still be excited and happy for another person just because they are reading and that is what we celebrate, we celebrate our love of reading.

2.  Discovering New Reads – I absolutely love going through my WordPress Reader over the course of the day and coming across various book reviews, “Waiting on Wednesdays,” “Top Ten Tuesdays,” etc. which bring my attention to new books.  I use the term new loosely because sometimes these books aren’t newly released books, rather they are just books which I am not familiar with and therefore are new to me.  I get the chance to read the book’s synopsis and the opinions of someone who has already read it and depending on those two things I can then determine whether or not this sounds like a book I would be interested in reading.  I have actually had this happen a couple of times and just recently discussed this experience in this week’s “Want to Read Wednesday” post for The Archived Series by Victoria Schwab.  I read someone’s review of the book, which was favorable, and just instantly fell in love with the premise of it and knew I had to add it to my “To Be Read” list.

3.  Book Discussion – Something I have always had difficulty with is discussing the books I read with other people, specifically my friends when I was growing up.  During my childhood and teenage years, I was the only one in my group of friends who spent time reading – though as an adult, I have come to be friends with more like-minded individuals and a few of them are readers.  Growing up, I despised the feeling of finishing a book and having no one to talk to it about – it was one of the most disheartening feelings in the world for me because here was this great story and I had no one to share it with.  Since starting college, I have more friends who read and while we don’t always read the exact same things I am able to talk to them about the books that we do share a knowledge of and that is wonderful.  My boyfriend doesn’t read much but you would think he does because he has all of this book knowledge from having to listen to me complain obsess over so many books.  Yeah, he is basically stuck with me, my daughter, and the books her and I share.

These are the three major things about book blogging that I love, I could keep going on but anything else I have to say will ultimately just relate back to one of the three things I already mentioned.  If you want to see my other #BookBlogWriMo posts, you can find them here!

Until next time!

Book Blog Sig

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo | Reviews from a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

