#BookBlogWriMo – Day 14

bookblogwrimo-banner

 Welcome to days 14 of #BookBlogWriMo – a writing event focusing on what it means to be a book blog hosted by the lovely Book Bumblings.  You can click the picture above for more information and how to participate!

11/14 – Your Ratings System – A lot of blogs have ratings policies or systems. Some don’t, but they really do. What makes you decide how many stars to give?

When it comes to ratings, I don’t have an overly fancy system.  I base my review ratings off of a 5-star system, with 5 being the highest, allowing for .25’s, .5’s, and .75’s.  Here is a break down of my thought process behind my ratings.

0.5 -1 Star:  I will very rarely, if ever, have a rating this low.  It would mean that I struggled with the book, if you can even call such a travesty a book, in some way and was either unable to finish it or unable to garner any semblance of a plot.

1 – 1.5 Stars:  Again, I don’t normally have ratings this low.  It would mean that I struggled on some level with the book, whether it was mechanically, with the characters, or plot-wise.

1.5 – 2 Stars:  May have found some semblance of a plot, but didn’t enjoy the book for whatever reason.

2 – 2.5 Stars:  Adequate plot, decent characters, but nothing really stands out as memorable and I didn’t enjoy it much.

2.5 – 3 Stars:  Adequate plot, good characters, would have enjoyed the book more had their been improvements technique-wise.

3 – 3.5 Stars:  Good plot, good characters, okay technique – basically, just an all-around okay book.

3.5 – 4 Stars:  Good plot, really good characters, good technique – an overall pleasant reading experience.

4 – 4.5 Stars:  Excellent plot, excellent characters, really good technique – an amazing and overall pleasing read.

4.5 – 5 Stars:  I don’t give a lot of 5-star reviews, or even high 4.5 or 4.75 star reviews because a book just has to blow my mind and dazzle me.  There must be an interesting and well-developed plot, characters with depth, and a well executed writing technique.

If you want to see my other #BookBlogWriMo posts, you can find them here!

Book Blog Sig

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo | Reviews from a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

