#BookBlogWriMo – Day 10 and 11

bookblogwrimo-banner

 Welcome to days 10 & 11 of #BookBlogWriMo – a writing event focusing on what it means to be a book blog hosted by the lovely Book Bumblings.  You can click the picture above for more information and how to participate!

Due to my little mini-vacation on Sunday and Monday to visit my mother and grandmother with my daughter and boyfriend, I need to play a bit of catch up.  Therefore, Days 10 & 11 are going to be posted as a duo-post!

11/10 – Memes You Meme – Do you #ThrowbackThursday or indulge in a little #ManCandyMonday? Share some of your favorite meme posts from your blog or social media pages.

When it comes to the subject of memes on the internet, specifically my usage of them in blogging, it is difficult to say whether or not I indulge in them or not.  I mean, I have my 3 weekly posts:  “My Thoughts Monday,” “Want to Read Wednesday,” and “Friday Reads,” but these aren’t exactly wide-spread memes being utilized in the book blogging community by many individuals.  Yet, they are based off of and similar to some of the memes which are more common place.

This isn’t to say that I am against the use of memes in my blogging, nor is it me saying I am too good for them.  I think the reason that I didn’t or rather haven’t utilized any is because I truthfully haven’t gone so far as to look into any of them or which ones are even available to choose from.  I know there are “Top Ten Tuesdays” and “Waiting on Wednesdays” but aside from that, I don’t know what book blog memes there are.  If you have or are aware of a compendium of all the book blog memes out there, then please leave a comment below for me!  I would love to utilize some in the future and can just adjust my blogging responsibilities/schedule accordingly.  I honestly think it would be a really fun way to be even more involved in the book blog community, much like what #BookBlogWriMo is doing for all of us now.

11/11 – #Top10Tuesday – Most Popular Posts – Head on over to Google Analytics or wherever your stats are located and find the 10 most popular posts on your blog. Link to them, talk about them, tell us why we should love them.

Honestly, I am kind of surprised by which posts are my most popular and I will go into more detail about why that is for each post in particular over the course of this entry.

10.  Book Review – The Atlantis Plague by A. G. Riddle – I discussed in previous blog posts about how I wound up coming across The Origins Mystery Trilogy by A. G. Riddle by complete happenstance on Amazon (actually my boyfriend pointed it out to me) when looking for something new to read after reading and reviewing Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira.  This post is a link to my review for the second book in the trilogy.  I wrote a pretty favorable review of the book because the writing style improved vastly between the first and second novels and I found myself to be pleasantly surprised by the story as it was progressing, I was really excited about the story and I felt myself invested in the characters which made this an even better reading experience.  I am surprised by this being one of my top posts because as far as I knew, Riddles’s The Origins Mystery Trilogy wasn’t a very well known set of books and yet this review is listed at #10 and the other two reviews are higher up on the list as well.

9.  Want to Read Wednesday – Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn – I am going to be somewhat honest, I absolutely love the idea behind my WTRW posts because I love sharing what books are on my “To Be Read List” with my followers.  I love talking about the reasons why I want to read the book, I love hearing the thoughts and impressions others have of the book, and I love the possibility of bringing someone’s attention to a book they either hadn’t thought of or heard of.  I know that Gillian Flynn has received a lot of press recently because of her novel Gone Girl and its movie adaptation, so I am not surprised to find that a post mentioning her has made my top 10.  Yes, I do want to and plan to read Gone Girl but that isn’t the novel which originally drew me to Flynn’s work.  I was first drawn to her work through this novel, through the stark imagery on its cover, and my own familiarity with sharp objects.

8.  Want to Read Wednesday – The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – Again, a WTRW post has appeared on my top 10 list.  This is a novel which has gained attention and criticism the world over due to its shocking subject material.  Apparently there is something which strikes some individuals as distasteful when it comes to writing about teenagers who are considered to be terminally ill and yet, what I find to be so appealing about this novel is the fact that there is a sense of realism.  It stands to reason that as a terminally ill teenager you aren’t just going to allow yourself to suffer through life until your demise, you are instead going to want to live and look forward to having some sort of life in the face of your own death.  I think that is a beautiful thing to remind everyone, I think it is important for all of us to realize and remember that we shouldn’t be so afraid of death that we forget to live.  I am still really looking forward to reading this book, I just have so many others which are lined up ahead of it currently though.

7.  #BookBlogWriMo – Yep, my post announcing my participation in this lovely book blog community event as well as a list of every post I have written so far for it!

6.  Book Review – The Atlantis Gene by A. G. Riddle – I am going to be honest, I felt a bit sad when I wrote up this review because I almost worried that I was being too critical of the author’s writing style given that it was their first published novel.  What I felt to be important about this post though was that I had to remember to be critical while also remaining respectful – I would never want to be insulting or rude to someone over their work unless I had an extremely valid reason and even then, I still wouldn’t be rude about it.  I have always thought that as an individual who is reading someone’s work and then reviewing it, I should always be mindful of the fact that this isn’t just someone’s job or livelihood because writers put so much of themselves into their work.  I feel like this review is probably one of the first ones where I learned and understood what it meant to provide constructive criticism.

5.  Rolling Stone Reader’s Poll – The 10 Best Stephen King Books by Andy Greene – Being completely honest, this post wasn’t even a planned post – I ended up writing this post on the spot when I came across the link to the original article on my Facebook news feed.  I’ve written before about my love of Stephen King’s work, having read The Dark Tower Series many times and picking up a couple of his other books since.  I always find myself incredibly excited when I hear news of Stephen King and his work because I always hope for other pieces which will deal with the Tower – maybe not directly relating to Roland and the ka-tet of 19 but other facets of the story, etc.  I am a slave to the Tower, doomed to look for the journey to it in all of King’s works.

4.  Book Review – The Atlantis World by A. G. Riddle – This is the review which wraps up all of my thoughts on Riddle’s The Origins Mystery Trilogy.  I touched on how the story developed and evolved from the beginning to the end and discussed my thoughts about the growth of the characters through the trilogy.  I was incredibly pleased with this trilogy, that is the best way for me to put it.  I went into it without any high expectations for it because it wasn’t some popular read, it wasn’t a well known author, or any of that – all that I expected was to be told a story, and I got that and so much more.

3.  Content Thoughts – Possible Solution – When I was first returned to book blogging I was trying to come up with different ideas for my weekly posts, I had already planned out that Fridays would be when I would post my Book Reviews/Currently Reading Updates.  Then, I decided to write about books I wanted to read on Wednesdays, creating Want to Read Wednesday.  After that, I figured I needed one more weekly post and had chosen Monday as the best day to have a third post.  In this post I discussed the idea of possibly doing a feature called “Book-Movie Monday” but I found that there was going to be way too much involved in attempting to do this the way that I had wanted to.  I wanted to pick a book-movie combo, read the book, then watch the movie, and then write up the comparison/review of the two but doing this in conjunction with my Friday Reads books and posts was just going to be too in depth.  Instead, I rolled this post idea into a possible My Thoughts Monday feature if I happen to finish reading/reviewing a book that is also a movie – such as my recent/current reads of Angels and Demons & The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown.

2.  Book Review – The Giver Quartet by Lois Lowry – With the release of Lois Lowry’s The Giver as a movie this year, I am not surprised to find my book review of The Giver Quartet to be one of my most popular entries.  I originally read The Giver when I was in seventh grade, but hadn’t read any of the other books – frankly, I didn’t even know there were other books set in the same world as I was growing up.  When I heard that The Giver had been adapted into a movie, I got excited at the idea and made the decision that I would read it again and eventually watch the movie for a Book-Movie Monday feature.  It was this August when I was searching for an e-book copy of The Giver that I realized it was the first book in a quartet of novels which all take place in differing parts of this same world that Lowry created.  I had always wondered what happened to the two children at the end of The Giver and over the course of the other three novels in the quartet, I found my answer to that question and many others that I didn’t even realize I had.  My read through the The Giver Quartet is definitely among my top 5 reads for this year.

1.  Special – Currently Reading Spotlight featuring Stephanie Binding – Over the course of the month of October, I had a special reading project featuring the works of self-published author Stephanie Binding.  She provided me with e-book copies of both of her novels, Autumn Recovery and Desolate, in exchange for an honest review.  Over the course of the month, I read and reviewed both of her books and then we sat down and had a chat/interview about them – we discussed how her own struggles with addiction and her own mental health issues impacted her writing of Autumn Recovery, we talked about her protagonist’s obsession and grief in Desolate, and also talked a little bit about her upcoming project.  All in all, it was an incredibly fun experience and I would love to do more features such as this in the future.

If you want to see my other #BookBlogWriMo posts, you can find them here!

Book Blog Sig

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo | Reviews from a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

