#BookBlogWriMo – Day 9

bookblogwrimo-banner

 Welcome to day 9 of #BookBlogWriMo – a writing event focusing on what it means to be a book blog hosted by the lovely Book Bumblings.  You can click the picture above for more information and how to participate!

11/9 – Your Blogging Workflow – Lifters can take their #gymflow and shove it. Share your blogging process and rituals using the hashtag #blogflow.

I admit to being somewhat lax when it comes to my book blogging experience, only because I tend to procrastinate and wait until the very last minute to write up my posts.  As I have mentioned, I run three weekly posts on my blog:  My Thoughts Monday, Want to Read Wednesdays, and Friday Reads.  This is how a typical week of blogging goes for me anytime outside of #BookBlogWriMo and NaNoWriMo where I am not writing an entry a day.

Monday – I will have already had my MTM post scheduled for 10am and it will have posted automatically.  I update the description page to include the link to the new article.  I then spend the rest of my day checking out blogs I follow, reblogging on Tumblr, reading, and video gaming.

Tuesday – I peruse Goodreads, specifically my “To Be Read” shelf and upcoming releases, and choose a book to write about for WTRW.  Once I have chosen the book, I will write up and schedule the post for 10am on Wednesday.  I then go about my usual activities of checking other blogs I follow, perusing and reblogging on Tumblr, reading, and gaming.

Wednesday – Again, I mostly will spend the day checking other blogs, on my Tumblr dash, reading, and gaming.

Thursday – Usually in the evening I will evaluate my reading progress for the week.  If I have finished a book at all within the last week, then I will write up a Friday Read’s Review.  If I haven’t finished a book, then I will write up a Friday Currently Reading post.  Once I’ve done that, it is back to checking in on other blogs, Tumblr adventures, more reading, and more gaming.

Friday and Saturday – I typically take these two days and don’t do any work for my blog.  I may log in and read other people’s posts, mindlessly reblog pretty things on Tumblr, or read and game, but I truthfully don’t usually take the time to write up any posts on these days.  I am all in favor of having a weekend and treat these two days as my weekend.

Sunday – This is when I will search the internet for any interesting articles in the book world or just write on a subject I am currently interested in at the time for my MTM post.  After that I will usually return to my normal habits of reading other blogs, Tumblring, reading, and gaming.

Note:  None of this takes into account any days where I may get called in for work at the school district, parenting my daughter, or the other normal intricacies of my everyday life which aren’t all that exciting.  This is just what my basic book blogging ritual sort of looks like on a day to day basis.

If you want to see my other #BookBlogWriMo posts, you can find them here!

 

Book Blog Sig

6 Comments

  1. Nice flow! I try to blog everyday, sometimes I have 2 posts go up. I am scaling way back on tours for Nove and Dec. I probably wouldn’t have posts daily this month if not for #bookblogwrimo. So it feels like I am really busy on ny site. It does feel good to look at my calender and see everyday I am blogging. I tend to overbook myself… I wish I had the self control to only post 3 days a week, and to have more of a plan of what I want to post.

    • Hahaha, I will admit – I don’t consider myself controlled at all about my posting. I just realized last year that I needed to scale back my posting because I burned myself out attempting to write as much as I was. Though, if I do come across something really interesting and actually want to write then I will do so and post on my off days. I just don’t want to get into a rhythm where I feel as if I am forcing myself to write. This way works for me because I have my 3 weekly posts where I know specifically what I need to focus on and then can have fun on the other days if I find something to write about. I may look into book tours and the like next year, I don’t have much experience with it and it could be a lot of fun.

  2. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo | Reviews from a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile

  3. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo – Day 12 | Reviews from a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

