#BookBlogWriMo – Day 6

bookblogwrimo-banner

 Welcome to day 6 of #BookBlogWriMo – a writing event focusing on what it means to be a book blog hosted by the lovely Book Bumblings.  You can click the picture above for more information and how to participate!

11/6 – #TBT – Favorite Childhood Books – What were some of your favorite books way back when?  This could be a read from before you could read, or what you spent summers by the pool with in high school.

I am actually incredibly excited about this #BookBlogWriMo prompt because much like I currently do as an adult, I spent a lot of my school years reading and here are some of my favorite books!

The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien

I don’t remember which grade it was in elementary school, but one of our required reading books for the year was Tolkien’s The Hobbit.  I remember I brought the book home from school and showed it to my mother and I watched as her face broke into a smile.  She then went into her room and brought back her boxed set which included The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings.  She asked me if we were going to read all of them and I said that we were only planning on reading The Hobbit, so she told me that once I had finished The Hobbit for class that I should read the other three novels because it was an amazing story.  I remember reading them but I don’t really recall how I felt about them at the time, but I ended up coming back to them and reading them again when I found out they were being adapted as movies and instantly found myself in love with the stories.  I actually just finished a re-read of them this year and I am still filled with that same sense of awe every time I read them!

The Nancy Drew Series by Carolyn Keener

I never came close to finishing The Nancy Drew Series, but I spent a lot of my time reading them when I was a little girl.  I specifically remember these books because I owned these exact editions with their bright yellow covers.  If I remember correctly, I had been bought two boxed sets of them which included the first 12 novels as a birthday gift one year.  That summer, I can remember that after I’d eaten dinner with my sister and great grandparents all of us would move to the small living room area where my great grandparents would turn on either the baseball game or Wheel of Fortune and I would sprawl out on the couch and just read my books.  I specifically remember storing my boxes of these books down next to the couch so that way I never had to move when I needed a new one, I could just reach down and find the next one.  I read these books over and over so many times that summer – the thrill of the mystery was always so exciting.  I think that that these books are how I came to love crime fiction novels as a teenager and an adult.

The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

This is a book series which needs no introduction and is one which has been read the world over by many people.  I will be honest though, I didn’t come to learn about The Harry Potter Series until I was in high school.  The first book, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, was released in the US on September 1, 1998 – I was in seventh grade but I wouldn’t come to know the golden trio until after it was announced that the novels would be turned into a movie.  It was at the suggestion of a good friend of mine that I decided I would give the books a chance, so fall 2001 I made a trip to the bookstore and picked up the first two books.  As soon as I finished them I returned to the bookstore to pick up the next two and pre-ordered book five.  I would also eventually pre-order book six and book seven, eventually attending their midnight release parties – I was hooked.  I ended up devouring these books in single sittings, I absolutely fell in love with them and the growing darkness of the wizarding world was done so well for an audience which was growing with their favorite characters.  I just…I am unable to give due justice to just how much these books have come to mean to me over the years – I have so many great memories of reading them, I can specifically remember staying up late at night and hiding under the covers with a flashlight so I could read them.  I am excited because I am going to get to share in this magical experience all over again soon because my daughter Annalyse read the first two novels in the series last year.  Now mind you, Annalyse is only seven years old so I am not sure exactly how ready she is for the following books in the series but I think that once she turns nine her and I will read the series together from start to finish.  We will just read a chapter or two a day – we will set some type of schedule between us so that we can read them at the same pace and share the experience and our thoughts.  I can’t wait!

Truthfully, I could keep listing books until I had listed every single book I have read because I think each book we read touches us in some way and has some sort of impact on us, whether or not we notice it.  These are definitely the three book series which had the deepest impact on me though as a child and definitely helped to cement my love of reading – I only hope that I can help to do the same for my daughter as well.

Book Blog Sig

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo | Reviews from a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

