#BookBlogWriMo – Day 4

bookblogwrimo-banner

 Welcome to day 4 of #BookBlogWriMo – a writing event focusing on what it means to be a book blog hosted by the lovely Book Bumblings.  You can click the picture above for more information and how to participate!

11/4 – Why You Blog

I will be honest, I think that this is question would have proven to be incredibly difficult for me to answer upon first joining the book blog community last year.  I remember when I first started blogging about books on Tumblr, not only did I spend a lot of time writing what I felt to be quality content for my blog but when I wasn’t writing I spent a lot of time monitoring the “Activity” section for follower and note counts.  At the time, I had wanted to feel like I belonged among the book blog community and I wanted to feel some sort of validation for my opinions.  I never took it out on the followers I did have nor did I ever openly complain about it on my blog, but I can remember feeling incredibly disheartened by having so few followers and my original content not receiving many notes.  After a while I ended up feeling burnt out of book blogging and reading, ultimately I decided to just take a break from both of those things.

I think that the break really did end up helping me in the long run because when I was ready to return to book blogging this past August, I returned with an enhanced sense of focus and reason for why I wanted to blog about books.  Yes, I still had the same desire to share my thoughts and opinions on the books I read but it was no longer strictly about follower counts, or having my opinions validated by an audience, or even about how much traffic I got in the form of visits/likes/comments.  Instead, I just felt the desire to share my bookish experiences with the book blog community, revel in their bookish experiences as well, and just find happiness in our shared love of reading books.  I think that this understanding, this change of attitude really did help me to find a better reason for why I blog – for why I want to be a book blog.

I blog because I want to share my love of reading with others and revel in their love of reading with them by sharing our bookish experiences, by being a part of the book blog community at large where all of us can share of love of reading via reviews, pictures, lists, community events, etc.  There is no one way to share your love of reading and that is a beautiful thing.

Book Blog Sig

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo | Reviews from a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

