#BookBlogWriMo – Day 2

bookblogwrimo-banner

 Welcome to day 2 of #BookBlogWriMo – a writing event focusing on what it means to be a book blog hosted by the lovely Book Bumblings.  You can click the picture above for more information and how to participate!

11/2 – How You Read – Paperback? Hardcover? Ereader? Smartphone? Bookmarks, note taking in the margins, or highlighting? Tell us some of your reading rituals!

Being an avid reader, I spend a lot of time reading and I mean a lot.  Reading is something I have been doing since I was a kid and I hope to continue doing it well into the later years of my adult life.  Over time, my reading habits and rituals have changed and evolved but my love for reading definitely hasn’t.  I can remember as a kid I was only bought or given paperback copies of books, this is partially due to the fact that I had the habit of trying to take my books with me everywhere I went – outside playing with my younger sister the book would sit in the grass, planning on going swimming then the book would sit on my towel on the chair.  Needless to say, my seeming need to take my books with me and constantly read them led them to acquire what I would now call a “well-loved” look.  Pages would be dog eared for my favorite scenes and the spine would be cracked in many places, the book just looked like it had been read and loved by the person who read it.

In my teenage years I started to treat books with more reverence.  I was no longer as hard on them and while I still attempted to carry whatever book I was reading with me everywhere I went, it was a little bit easier since I was a teenager and therefore a lady (in my mind) so I therefore carried a purse (which meant I could carry my books easier).  This is also around the time when I started getting hardcover books over paperback books.  I was convinced that owning and reading hardcovers made me seem more adult somehow.  As I acquired more and more hardcover books I started to appreciate book covers and dust jackets – I began to really take notice of the artistic details and came to have an even deeper appreciation of books and the stories they hold.

Something I always loved about physical copies of books was bookmarks.  As a teenager, I collected bookmarks – yes, collected them.  I used to go to the bookstore (at the time, there was a Borders about 25 minutes away from where we lived) about once a week with my family and I can remember the displays they had near the cash registers with all sorts of bookmarks.  Every week when we went, my mom would either buy me a book or a bookmark.  It eventually got to the point where my mom would buy me a book and I would not eat lunch at school, save my lunch money and then buy a bookmark when we went.  I had bookmarks of all different shapes, sizes, materials, some would have inspiring quotes and others were cute little animals with magnets that hung onto the top corner of the page.  Still to this day, I absolutely love bookmarks and would likely continue to collect them were I in a financial situation which allowed me such a luxury.  However, with the change over to ebooks I have found myself needing bookmarks less and less.

I was in my early 20’s when Amazon started to revolutionize the book world with their e-readers.  I eventually received an Amazon Kindle (2nd Generation) as a gift and that is when my long affair with ebooks began.  I fell in love with the fact that not only could I easily carry a book with me, but now I could carry all of my books with me.  There was no more question of what would I do when I finished the book I had with me, now I was able to just move on to the next book without any down time until I could get another book from my book shelf.  Since then I have been upgraded to a Kindle Fire (1st generation) which I received as a Valentine’s Day gift a few years ago.  I have fallen absolutely in love with the convenience of ebooks and my ereader.  Any time I find myself looking into upgrading to a new tablet, I always take the time to consider how it will serve me as an ereader as well because that is a large majority of how I spend my time, reading on a tablet.

Another thing that I love about ebooks is my guilt free highlighting and note taking ability with them.  With paperbacks and hardcover books, I never felt write about the idea of highlighting them or writing in them – I don’t even have a logical reason or explanation for it other than I just didn’t like the thought of it.  If I was taking notes on a book or found a quote I liked, I would actually find my journals/notebooks and would separately record it.  Looking back on it now, it was kind of a waste of time and silly in some ways but I remember feeling like those words meant something and wanted to bring attention to them for whatever reason.  With my Kindle Fire though, I find myself more willing to highlight quotes I like and/or make notes (especially if it is a book I am reading to review).

Basically, I have read in many different ways over the course of my life and even though the way I read has changed I am proud to say that I have never lost my love for it.

Book Blog Sig

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo | Reviews from a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

