#BookBlogWriMo – Day 1

bookblogwrimo-banner

 Today is officially the first day of not only NaNoWriMo, but also #BookBlogWriMo a book blog event being hosted by the lovely Book Bumblings.  You can click the picture above for more information on how to participate!

11/1 – History of Your Blog – Tell us how you got started!  When did you start your blog?  Why?  What have been some of your trials and tribulations?  How many pigs did you have to sacrifice to get people to see your Facebook posts?

To begin with, I have been a part of the blogging scene for a long time – I have experienced blogging’s evolution from the beginning days of using Livejournal and/or Xanga to host a blog and watched as the internet and the world of blogging platforms expanded.  My own blogging experience started off as an outlet, a tool for me to express myself and deal with some of the feelings that pervaded my everyday life.  I basically utilized my blog as a daily journal, I would write about everything that happened that day or about crushes, my poetry, etc.  It actually wasn’t until last year, 2013, that I decided to create a book blog after a discussion about doing so with a very good friend of mine – this is how my book blogging adventures began.

I started my book blogging adventures strictly on Tumblr, I created my book blog MyBiblioPhileSide on September 3rd of last year. I started out in a pretty over zealous manner – I had the idea that I would have a scheduled post for each day of the week covering different facets of my love for books from reading updates and reviews to professional review critiques and more. Eventually, I ended up burning out…I burned out on not only blogging but on reading too. I ended up taking some extended time away from both the blogging scene and reading until I felt interested in doing so again.

Reading was the desire that returned to me first, though I still felt somewhat slow and sluggish about it until I started reading stories which were new to me. It was August 13th of this year when I made the decision to create a WordPress blog and allow it to publicize to my already established Tumblr blog.  I would use WordPress for all of my text based posts, i.e. my discussions, my desired reads, my reading updates, my currently reading posts, and my reviews. All of these posts would grow into the weekly posts featured on my blog in the form of My Thoughts Mondays – where discussion on varying book topics occurs, Want to Read Wednesdays – where I talk about different books I want to read, and Friday Reads – where I write about either what I am currently reading or review a recently finished book.  By cutting back on the amount of posts I expected myself to complete each week and consistently reminding myself that I am participating in the book blog community for fun, I have been able to maintain a positive outlook on this experience.  Not only that, but I have been doing my best to ensure that I am doing just that – having fun while I am blogging.  The first time I went about book blogging I attempted to take myself too seriously and expected the content I produced to be on the same level as that of professionals, then I spent a lot of time feeling down because I wasn’t getting the same amount of traffic as more popular book blogs (specifically on Tumblr) though I had felt I put forth a quality product.  I won’t lie and say that my outlook has changed because I do still want to garner interest and traffic to this blog, but I have learned to not be so hard on myself about it and to just continue to do what I am doing because I enjoy it – continuing to produce a quality bookish posts and having fun while doing it has become my overall goal for this book blog.

I feel that becoming a part of the Book Blogging Community on WordPress has ultimately helped me to realize and better appreciate exactly what it means to be a book blog.

Book Blog Sig

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo | Reviews from a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile

  2. I know exactly what you mean by understanding what it means to be a book blogger, I blogged for a year and a half and ended up burning out, however I’m now getting back into it and I’m so excited to join the community again because I’ve missed it so much!
    You’re wordpress blog is wonderful, just so you know 🙂
    Happy reading ❤

    • I am so glad to hear you are giving book blogging another chance! I think that the book blogging community is one of the best there is and I absolutely love being a part of it; not only sharing what I am reading but finding new reads from other bloggers or finding someone who is just as crazy about a book as you are – these are just some of the most rewarding things about.

      Thanks so much for your kind words on my blog. I wish you all the best in your future blogging endeavors!

Leave a Reply

