Want to Read Wednesday – The Diviners by Libba Bray

Melanie’s Want to Read Wednesday #6

16050751

Source for Image

TITLE:  The Diviners

SERIES:  The Diviners Series, Book 1

AUTHOR:  Libba Bray

GOODREADS’ AVG. RATING:  3.97 out of 5 stars; 26,068 ratings

SYNOPSIS PROVIDED:

Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City–and she is pos-i-toot-ly thrilled. New York is the city of speakeasies, shopping, and movie palaces! Soon enough, Evie is running with glamorous Ziegfield girls and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is Evie has to live with her Uncle Will, curator of The Museum of American Folklore, Superstition, and the Occult–also known as “The Museum of the Creepy Crawlies.”

When a rash of occult-based murders comes to light, Evie and her uncle are right in the thick of the investigation. And through it all, Evie has a secret: a mysterious power that could help catch the killer–if he doesn’t catch her first.

WHY I WANT TO READ IT:

I first came across the work of author Libba Bray in the form of her Gemma Doyle Trilogy, a trilogy which I greatly enjoyed and have now read multiple times over the years.  I specifically remember walking around the bookstore looking for something new to read and coming across these books, I was immediately drawn in by the beauty of their covers and never have I regretted that fact.  They were appealing, gorgeous books and because of that I picked them up to read the synopses and ended up taking them home.  I was transported by Bray’s writing into Gemma’s world, a world of magic, power, and deceit in a time period where women with power were few and far between.

Since reading the Gemma Doyle Trilogy, I had wondered if/when Bray would release a new project and whether or not it would be related to Gemma’s story or if it would be something new and different.  I was both excited and intrigued when I found out about her new book project The Diviners for a couple of different reasons.  I am greatly intrigued by the time period of this novel, the 1920’s have such a distinct reputation filled with flappers, music, speakeasys, and the like.  It is a time period I wish I had been able to experience personally.  Bray is also leading us into another world of magic and the Occult, I am interested to see how she is going to develop magic in this series versus how she treated it with Gemma.  I expect to find myself transported to another place and another time when reading Evie’s story, this is one of Bray’s strengths and one of the main reasons I look forward to reading her future works.

Book Blog Sig

Leave a Reply

