The Liebster Award

Firstly, I would like to say thank you many times over to the lovely 52 Letters in the Alphabet for nominating me for The Liebster Award.  I am definitely appreciative and excited for the fun opportunity I have been given thanks to this community building award.

Liebster award

Here are the rules upon receiving this community given award:

  1. Link to and thank the blogger who nominated you.
  2. Answer the 11 questions your nominator gave you.
  3. Tag 11 other bloggers who have 200 or less followers.
  4. Ask the 11 bloggers you nominated 11 questions and let them know you nominated them.

Part Two – The Given Questions:

Can you read in loud places or only when it is quiet?

I think myself to be pretty lucky because I am one of those people who can read anywhere, regardless of the noise level.  However, I have found that when I am reading in noisier areas, I tend to take breaks from my reading to look around and observe what is going on.  My curiosity tends to get the better of me at times.  So while I can read anywhere I do prefer to read in quieter places, however, I can’t stand complete silence.

Do you prefer to read stand alone books or series?

This is a more difficult question to answer because it depends on how busy real life is and my own personal frame of mind when it comes to choosing between a stand alone novel and a series.  Over the course of the last few years of reading, I have gone from series to series which can get taxing after a while.  I just recently read two stand alone novels, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira (both of which I previously reviewed here and here, respectively) and found myself to be somewhat mentally refreshed.  Since then I began reading a new trilogy, The Origins Mystery trilogy by A. G. Riddle, so as I said it just depends.

Who is your favorite author and why?

I honestly don’t really have an overall favorite author, I have more of collection of authors whose works I tend to enjoy.  Some of these authors are, in no particular order:  Laurell K. Hamilton, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Stephen King, Gregory Maguire, James Patterson, Anne Rice, Rick Riordan, J. K. Rowling, R. A. Salvatore, Brandon Sanderson, and J. R. R. Tolkien.  These are authors who I have found myself repeatedly going back to; whether it is a new book that they’ve written or rereading a favorite, I have just always found myself deeply immersed in the stories they’ve created and that makes for a great book to me.

Do you organize your bookshelves in any particular way?

Currently, I don’t have organized bookshelves because most of my books are in storage due to not having the space to accommodate all of them in my current living arrangement sadly.  Typically when my bookshelves are set up and lined with books, my books are organized by author and then by series and then in series order…I tend to be a little OCD about that.  On my Kindle Fire, which is my default reading device and method, I alternate between sorting the books by author and by most recent activity.

What fictional character would you date?

Honestly, the only fictional character I could reasonably see myself wanting to date is Nathaniel Graison from the Anita Blake series by Laurell K. Hamilton.  It seems like such an odd answer, but I have a great amount of respect for the type of love that he has for Anita.  He loves her for who she is in her entirety, not because of what power she could bring or because of sex or her looks…he just loves her and is willing to be what she needs in her life rather than forcing her to change who she is and conform to some ideals that just aren’t possible.  Just knowing that someone loves you in your entirety, for who you are and will be, for your faults and your strengths…it is a love that can grow and can last.

What is a book that has made you angry (for any reason)?  -IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE DIVERGENT TRILOGY AND PLAN TO, BEWARE SPOILERS AHEAD-

I already know that the answer I am going to give to this question will have a lot of love/hate associated with it because it is a response which is greatly debated among book bloggers, at least it has been from what I have seen on Tumblr.  Anyways, the book I found to be the most aggravating recently was Allegiant by Veronica Roth.  So story time!!!!  The Divergent Trilogy was recommended to me by a close friend, she had read the first two novels but hadn’t read Allegiant yet.  Her and I attended Blizzcon together with our boyfriends November of last year and as a gift, I picked up a copy of Allegiant for her with the stipulation that she couldn’t read it until she was on the plane heading home since all of us had plans to hang out and spend time together.  When she got home, she told me that I had to read the trilogy as soon as possible because she needed to talk to someone about it.  I read the first book and really enjoyed it, read the second one and I was still in a good place because there was still potential, then I read the last book and I was just angry.  I just felt that Tris’s growth as the heroine, the protagonist was stunted in favor of shock value by killing her off.  If you want to read all of my thoughts regarding Allegiant, the review can be found here.

What genre do you never read?

I won’t say there is a specific genre that I never read because I believe in judging a work by its individual merits rather than its genre or the reputation of an author because let’s face it, an amazing author can produce a piece that is terrible but that doesn’t take away from all of his/her other pieces.  The genre that I tend to read the least would most definitely be non-fiction.  I tend to enjoy reading as a freeing and leisurely activity, a way to escape the negativity of real life therefore, I tend to focus more on various forms of fiction.

What is the best book you’ve read this year?

The best book I have read so far this year is hands down The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, I seriously can’t praise this novel enough and have even gone so far as to recommend it to friends of mine.  I don’t know if it is just that I read this book at just the right time in my life where it was what I needed or if it genuinely was the story itself, or some combination of the two, but whatever it was…this book is a definite contender for my Book of the Year Award!

Do you prefer paperbacks, hardcovers, or ebooks?

I recently answered this question on my Tumblr book blog for the September Book Photo Challenge ran by the lovely books-cupcakes.  My answer is somewhat complicated because I have a definite love of hardcovers for my books, I just absolutely love the look of them and the feel of them in my hands when reading.  I have always felt that in a subliminal way, hardcover novels also lend a certain strength to the words on the pages they hold together.  However, I have a strong affinity and love for ebooks due to their sheer convenience.  I absolutely love the fact that I can carry my Kindle Fire in my purse with ease and that it holds all of my books, I currently have close to 900 books on my device.  I came up with what I thought to be an important message though when I first joined the book blogging community on Tumblr a year ago, I then made this statement:

Still to this day, I hold that statement to be true.  I will read a book, whether it is an ebook or a hardcover or a paperback because it isn’t the format the words are presented in that is important, rather, it is the content itself which matters.

What is one book you wish everyone would read?

I wish that everyone would read Impulse by Ellen Hopkins.  I know it is a book which is written in a seemingly odd or awkward style, but the story of it is one I found to be incredibly important.  I have spoken about my own battles with depression and suicide previously in other corners of the internet, but I have always felt that this novel gives a lot of insight into the thought process of individuals who are battling these very same issues.  I think that if there were more people who were able to understanding and ultimately be supportive because of that understanding, then perhaps there would be less hurt in the world due to this chronic illness.

What books have influenced your life the most?

I get to cheat on this question a little bit since I just recently filled out a list of 10 books which influenced me the most on Facebook.  However, my 10th pick is going to be adjust a little bit after actually talking with my boyfriend about this very post last night.

  1. The Dark Tower series by Stephen King
  2. The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien
  3. The Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling
  4. His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman
  5. The Pact by Jodi Picoult
  6. Just Listen by Sarah Dessen
  7. Impulse by Ellen Hopkins
  8. Matilda by Roald Dahl
  9. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
  10. Mr. Popper’s Penguins by Richard Atwater

Part Three – My Nominations:

I am going to be a little nonchalant and instead of attempting to choose individuals, I am going to welcome any and all of my followers or fellow bloggers to please take part in this lovely challenge.

Part Four – Questions for my Nominees:

My questions are:

  1. If you could live in the world of one novel, which would you choose and why?
  2. Which fictional character do you wish was your best friend?
  3. What is your favorite book which was originally introduced to you as assigned reading in school?
  4. Do you have a favorite time of day for reading?
  5. Think of your least favorite book; what is the one thing you wish was different that would have helped you to enjoy it more?
  6. What upcoming release are you most looking forward to?
  7. What book do you wish you could experience reading for the first time again?
  8. What book or book series would you most like to see become a movie/tv show?
  9. What book is next on your To Be Read List/Pile?
  10. Do you have a favorite reading time beverage?
  11. Favorite book cover?  (Please provide an image! =D)

Thank you for the fun and I look forward to seeing more of these and getting to know my fellow book bloggers!

Best regards,

Book Blog Sig

Leave a Reply

