Book Review – The Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson

TITLE:  The Mistborn Trilogy, Mistborn:  The Final Empire, The Well of Ascension, and The Hero of Ages

AUTHOR:  Brandon Sanderson

GOODREADS AVG. RATING:

  • Mistborn:  The Final Empire – 4.38 out of 5 stars; 115,351 ratings
  • The Well of Ascension – 4.32 out of 5 stars; 75,259 ratings
  • The Hero of Ages – 4.41 out of 5 stars; 71,955 ratings

SYNOPSIS PROVIDED:

Mistborn:  The Final EmpireSynopsis Source

In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with colour once more?
In Brandon Sanderson’s intriguing tale of love, loss, despair and hope, a new kind of magic enters the stage – Allomancy, a magic of the metals.

The Well of AscensionSynopsis Source

The impossible has been accomplished. The Lord Ruler – the man who claimed to be god incarnate and brutally ruled the world for a thousand years – has been vanquished. But Kelsier, the hero who masterminded that triumph, is dead too, and now the awesome task of building a new world has been left to his young protegé, Vin, the former street urchin who is now the most powerful Mistborn in the land, and to the idealistic young nobleman she loves.

As Kelsier’s protegé and slayer of the Lord Ruler she is now venerated by a budding new religion a distinction that makes her intensely uncomfortable. Even more worrying, the mists have begun behaving strangely since the Lord Ruler died, and seem to harbor a strange vaporous entity that haunts her.

Stopping assassins may keep Vin’s Mistborn skills sharp, but it’s the least of her problems. Luthadel, the largest city of the former empire, doesn’t run itself, and Vin and the other members of Kelsier’s crew, who lead the revolution, must learn a whole new set of practical and political skills to help. It certainly won’t get easier with three armies – one of them composed of ferocious giants – now vying to conquer the city, and no sign of the Lord Ruler’s hidden cache of atium, the rarest and most powerful allomantic metal.

As the siege of Luthadel tightens, an ancient legend seems to offer a glimmer of hope. But even if it really exists, no one knows where to find the Well of Ascension or what manner of power it bestows.

The Hero of AgesSynopsis Source

Who is the Hero of Ages?

To end the Final Empire and restore freedom, Vin killed the Lord Ruler. But as a result, the Deepness—the lethal form of the ubiquitous mists—is back, along with increasingly heavy ashfalls and ever more powerful earthquakes. Humanity appears to be doomed.

Having escaped death at the climax of The Well of Ascension only by becoming a Mistborn himself, Emperor Elend Venture hopes to find clues left behind by the Lord Ruler that will allow him to save the world. Vin is consumed with guilt at having been tricked into releasing the mystic force known as Ruin from the Well. Ruin wants to end the world, and its near omniscience and ability to warp reality make stopping it seem impossible. She can’t even discuss it with Elend lest Ruin learn their plans!

The conclusion of the Mistborn trilogy fulfills all the promise of the first two books. Revelations abound, connections rooted in early chapters of the series click into place, and surprises, as satisfying as they are stunning, blossom like fireworks to dazzle and delight. It all leads up to a finale unmatched for originality and audacity that will leave readers rubbing their eyes in wonder, as if awaking from an amazing dream.

MY REVIEW:

I must admit, this is a book series which caught me completely by surprise.  I figured that I would enjoy it, that I may even like it, but I wasn’t expecting to finish my read through of this trilogy and find myself to be converted into a fan.  I have been a long time fan of books/novels which fall within the realm of fantasy; there is just something about the idea of magic which has always interested me, likely because magic isn’t such a common occurrence in our reality.  So again, I say thank you to Kyle for recommending this series to me and I am sorry I didn’t listen to you and read it sooner!  Just so you know, he is now going to harp on me so hard about reading Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time series, he has been telling me to read it for quite the number of years now.

The first part of the trilogy that I found myself enjoying was our female protagonist and heroine, Vin.  I have seen opinions contradictory to my own, but I absolutely enjoyed Vin.  When it came down to it, Vin was a realistic character.  What do I mean that she was “realistic”?  I felt that every action Vin took was true to her character, true to her nature; every choice/decision fell in line with how I envisioned her reacting.  She was always bold and decisive in her actions, yet we watched her grow into and become an individual who had to learn and understand that she could trust in others.  Her character development and her part to play in the story was an amazing journey in acceptance and self growth.

Another item within the trilogy that I greatly enjoyed was the overall use of religion, as a theme.  I plan to do a more in detail discussion post regarding my thoughts on the use of religion through the trilogy, but I want to make mention that I was greatly impressed with the treatment of religion.  Religion was treated as an item of importance and reverence.  The religions which Sazed remembered and taught celebrated the idea of faith in the face of all things – adversity and miracles alike, rather than portraying the idea of a punishment for lack of faith.  I felt that this was a distinguishing characteristic because many religions do teach doctrine of punishment towards those weak of faith and non-believers alike.  I feel like teachings of acceptance and faith are a more welcome reason to believe in something when compared to being forced into belief for fear of punishment.

Honestly, there was very little about this trilogy that I can condemn or say was a complete buzz-kill for me.  The world was amazing, the magic system was interesting and was well explained, the secondary characters were fleshed out and had just as much of an impact in the course of the story as the protagonists…it was just a well told story of a world which had seen revolution and war attempting to build a future of peace and prosperity.

TL;DR REVIEW:  5 out of 5 stars.  As I said, I wasn’t expecting to come out of this trilogy as a fan of it but I am glad that I gave it a chance and found another world to love.  I look forward to reading the future novels to be found within the world of Mistborn that Sanderson has created.  If you are a fan of fantasy novels, then I encourage you to give Brandon Sander’s Mistborn Trilogy a chance.

Book Blog Sig

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Discussion – Portrayal of Religion in Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn Trilogy | Reviews from a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile

  2. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo – Day 13 | Reviews from a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

